August 3: Flash Fiction Challenge

August 3, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) use sound to create a story. Just as you might “see” a scene unfold, think about how it might sound. Even one sound to set the tone is okay. Go where you hear the prompt lead. Feel free to experiment.

https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/12307624/posts/1548476031

Someone had broken in.
Drawers were ransacked, papers shuffled and ruffled, heavier objects thrown to the floor.
Footsteps were muted but still audible on the carpet.
Wardrobes were violated, the swish of clothes on hangers disturbed the silence.
They were searching.
She trembled in her bed. Not for her to make a sound and announce her presence.
She’d been kicked by intruders before.
Angry barking rocketed through the stillness.
Sticky fingers stopped mid poke, the unwelcome guest backed into a corner by a snarling beast.
The German Shepherd guarded his patch and waited. The poodle went back to sleep.

 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to August 3: Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Yay for.the German Shepherd!

    • I’ve always loved the breed, and would happily have another if the circumstances were right. We saw one before we bought Maggie, but this one was a show dog, not a pet, and didn’t like women (unusual as all dogs like me as a rule). As you know, we love Maggie to bits!

  2. Michael says:

    Good one Di, enjoyed your 99 words..

    • Thanks Michael. My sister was burgled and the culprits kicked her retriever which was found cowering in the corner, so she bought a GSD puppy as back up. This grew into a huge 12 stone (softy) beast as he was a cross between a GSD and husky . On his hind legs, he stood almost 6 feet four. Nobody argued with him. The retriever recovered but remained shaken around strangers, staying well within the eye line of her new protector. Sadly both have passed on now as it was many years ago.

  3. That is exactly what a shepherd would do. Loved the build up of tension you created with the sounds. And a superb ending.

    • Thank you. My sister’s GSD was a real softy once you knew him, but those teeth………. “Go On, Make My Day” doesn’t quite cover it! The two GSDs I had (not together) were lovely, the first very protective of me and the second, a rescue, turned to me for protection bless her.

      • Until recently I have always had GSD but the need to downsize also led to a downsizing of breed. They’ll always hold a soft spot in my heart.

      • I love the breed, always have. In Poole, we were walking down the Hgh St towards a couple who had two of the biggest and most gorgeous I’ve ever seen. People were parting like the Red Sea, but not me, I went up and asked if i could have a fuss. Result two dogs on backs enjoying tummy rubs and a street full of stunned shoppers (fools)

      • Haha. I know what you mean. We got sick of people pulling their children away and gathering up their dogs.

      • You know, that makes me so mad. Even with Maggie, we have seen people pick up their designer dogs in terror. Personally, IMO a chihuahua or JRT will give you a worse bite than a GSD, rottweiller or doberman. All comes down to the owner, and propective ‘fussers’ respecting the animal by asking first!
        My Mum was always afraid of GSDs until I had one, and she made such a fuss of it, she cried at being so silly for so many years.

      • Good on your Mum. The owner has a lot to do with it but I have only come across one GSD that had a problem and he was a rescue. Goodness knows what the poor dog had been subjected to. Our rescue GSD was like yours – needed our protection. I would have said he was a pussycat except that we had a cat that had a killer instinct.

  4. Norah says:

    I’d be hoping to not give myself away with breathing and a pounding heart too. Well told.

  5. Charli Mills says:

    Love this story, Di and the way you set it up from the perspective of the poodle. Living with my daughters 2 huge dogs, both German Shepherd/Husky mixes, I believe we all have twice this peace of mind in the household.

  6. Pingback: Pages of Sound « Carrot Ranch Literary Community

  7. Charli Mills says:

    Those GSD/Huskies watch every move I make, every bite I take, ha, ha. I feel I have a minor army with me at all times. And a hungry one!

  8. micketalbot says:

    Nice, the poodle went back to sleep, loved it, great flash
    An Elfje, couldn’t resist:

    flash
    fiction explosive
    well can be
    your terror certainly frightened
    me

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

