Tuesday Photo Challenge – Yellow

Welcome to Week 66 of the Tuesday Photo Challenge!
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/43011194/posts/1530271729

Yellow in Nature denotes a feeling of happiness and joy, a reflection of sunshine.
I remember fields of bright yellow rapeseed in Lincolnshire just behind us, pure gold and the smell was glorious. I also recall the year when millions of daffodils were left to rot, acres of proud double-headed blooms reduced to sad, sorry brown wilted stumps. We never found out, or understood why.

Other than that, I do not like the colour very much. It’s a personal thing really.
It doesn’t suit me for a start, and I remember having to wear a yellow crimplene frock with a white daisy petal collar for a wedding in 1970. I hated it, and looked like a frumpy anaemic daffodil (perhaps early sympathy?). OK, I was only 14, and hardly fashion conscious, but I felt awkward and ugly and just wanted to hide , ending up playing the piano in one of the reception rooms by myself.
Unbeknown to me, the bar staff turned on the mikes, and my music was broadcast all over the hotel. When I finished, the wedding party were all in the room where I was, and I hadn’t noticed at all.
That was when my grandfather found out I could play and we ended up going into all the locals the following day so that I could play Danny Boy for his pals.

In hindsight, yellow does bring back happy memories, and whilst Coldplay are crooning making Donovan mellow, I shall be tying ribbons round trees.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, prompts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tuesday Photo Challenge – Yellow

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    Nice memory of playing the piano!

    • I have lots of happy memories from my piano playing days. I haven’t played for a couple of years now, apart from a short session in a restaurant when I needed to think clearly and they were most obliging for an hour.

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Photo Challenge – Round Up 66 – Dutch goes the Photo!

  3. judithreid says:

    What a lovely memory (the piano playing) despite the odd outfit !!! I love yellow but must admit to hating the smell of rape!!

  4. Love this response to yellow 😉 Thanks for sharing the memory with us!

Leave a Reply

