She looked lovely

Here I am in The Frock.
You’ve got to laugh at my orange feet and pale legs where I’ve caught the sun wearing my joggers every day!
En route we stopped for a potty break and much needed coffee.
A lady came across to tell us we had a serious leak under the car bonnet, but we pointed out this was usual as we had air conditioning and it was the ‘overflow’.
When we said we were on our way to a wedding, she said I looked lovely (and I felt it too).

So here it is, my wedding post with pictures of yesterday’s celebration.
The ceremony was at midday in the courtyard, gentle popular music playing in the background as guests chatted amongst themselves before being seated.
Maggie looked beautiful in her bowed collar, and the professional photographer took several of her, so I was quite pleased and she was so good! There was another dog there, a black labrador, but she ignored him completely!

Mum, nephew and his girlfriend, hubby and I had the second row to ourselves.
In front of us was my sister, her boyfriend, and the Best Man.
The front row on the other side was reserved for the bridesmaids (my eldest niece as Matron of Honour and her two daughters, and the bride and groom’s daughter).
Photo: Mum and my nephew, such a lovely young man.

Hubby was on the other end of the row, so he took the camera and got some shots of the bride as she made her way to the ‘altar’ with her sister and daughter.
The registrar conducted the ceremony, and it was a bit of an up down, up down service, luckily with no singing, but both Mum and Hubby found it a bit awkward being seated and then being asked to stand several times.

The special person giving the bride away was their daughter, who will be six next month, who then took her seat with her cousins and aunt.
Exchanging vows, we came to realise how many names the groom had, and like Lady Di with Charles way back in 1981, my niece got a little tongue tied and got them in the wrong order. There were some lovely snatches of the giggles trying to overcome the seriousness of the moment, but it all went very well.


Their daughter also signed the certificate in her best writing, concentration written all over her face, but some idiot got in the way of my picture moment for that.

After that, everyone went into the gardens for canopes and drinks, my Mum being a little unsteady on her feet so she took my arm and together with Hubby, we walked up together.
On the way, we discovered the perfect house for us, and I couldn’t resist taking a picture.
We got Mum settled, teasing her that we were arranging for her to do a tandem parachute jump with my nephew, and we were just getting her a drink to steady her nerves. It was so good to hear her laugh as she began to relax. Pimms will do that apparently, so we got her two!

There was a confetti run, and the guests lined up either side for the bride and groom to run through them whilst everyone threw confetti. Oh the memories of fishing sugar puffs and rice crispies out of my underwear way back in 1991!
 

As I said in my earlier post, we didn’t stay long after that. I had my picture taken with the happy couple, Mum, my sister and bridesmaids on a little bridge, and we are both in a group picture somewhere in the back row, but other than that, there’s only our own record of our presence yesterday.I may have bought dinner in my posh frock, but once home, we stripped and donned our everyday clothes in case of drippage!

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, Family, miscellaneous, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to She looked lovely

  1. ellenbest24 says:

    A smashing dress and post. The dogs looked the bees knees and the sun shone, what more could you ask. A double Pimms please.🍸

  2. What a beautiful wedding! And you do look lovely in that frock.

    • Thank you so much. I did feel ‘posh’, which was probably why Mum didn’t recognise me as it’s about twenty years since she last saw me in a skirt. My great niece looked so cute and I was so glad they involved her the way they did. I wish them all every happiness.

Leave a Reply

