The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS July 15/17

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “book title.” Take the title of the book you’re currently reading or the one sitting closest to you when you’re ready to write your SoCS post and base your post on the title only. I’m not asking for a book review or a synopsis, just whatever the title itself brings to mind. For example, Gone Girl makes me remember the first time I left home to live by myself. Or Lord of the Rings makes me think of all the rings I’ve owned in my life. Enjoy!

https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/24840312/posts/1526885996

Hm, got a problem here as the book I’m reading at the moment is called Divine Evil by Nora Roberts!
So, I will go with the one I finished called The Accident by Linwood Barclay which I did a review on earlier in the month.
I have been quite fortunate in my driving years with few accidents.
However, my first was an absolute gem, ‘stylish’ and not entirely my fault.
I was driving my anglia, so it would have been in the early stage of my first marriage, and the husband and I had temporarily separated.
Cars in those days had charm and individuality, and if you wanted a metallic silver finish, you had to pay handsomely extra for it.
Gladys, my anglia, was a 1966 model.
Basic, standard, nothing flash, if anything, actually dull being 13 years old.

I was driving home to my parents, and lost concentration just for a second, ending up going up the back of a brand new Capri, with, you’ve guessed it, a metallic paint job.
The driver leapt out and rather than start swearing at me, apologised for not signalling before making the turn as his mind was somewhat occupied with something else.
I said mine had been elsewhere too having been thinking along the lines of divorce, and the guy said he’d just come back from viewing a body!
We agreed to settle for damage between ourselves, and exchanged phone numbers.
Those were the days when people were reasonable and not out to sue you for every blessed penny.
I ended up giving him a cheque for fifty quid, keeping my no claims bonus and going back to my husband. We separated for good less than a year later.

Note:
will try to set this up for publication tomorrow, Saturday 15th July.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

