Tuesday Photo Challenge – Bugs

I’m running late and out of order with my challenges this week!
Bear with me!
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/43011194/posts/1523036579

Giant Swallowtail

I love butterflies and use them a lot on my handmade cards.
In a way, I suppose you could say it’s my ‘signature’.
As a child, I was forever hopeful that my caterpillar would turn into a chrysalis and then a beautiful butterfly, but it never happened. I still don’t understand what I did wrong.
In the cottage back garden, we had a Buddleia bush which was enormous.
It attracted a huge variety of butterflies by the dozen, and one day I went outside to find the back fence awash with coloured wings as they bathed in the sunshine.
I didn’t know one from another then, and looked up our visitors in a nature book my Dad gave me years ago. It’s one of the few items of his I have.
We had small tortoiseshells, peacocks, red admirals, painted ladies, cabbage white and a common blue to name just a few.
Whenever I see one now, I always stop to wonder at these frail creatures of beauty.
Funny though, I don’t see that many caterpillars these days.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tuesday Photo Challenge – Bugs

  1. Pingback: Butterflies in crisis | pensitivity101

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Photo Challenge – Round Up 65 – Dutch goes the Photo!

  3. What a gorgeous swallowtail.

  4. I love the variety in butterfly designs!

Leave a Reply

