Hot Dog sizzles

It’s been another scorcher, and the rain fell everywhere else but here again today.
The conservatory has been worse than an oven so out-of-bounds for most of the day.
Just before midday, we decided to go out and find somewhere cool to walk the dog.
There are no long woodland walks nearby so it was a definite car ride, and the heat expelled out of the car when we opened the door robbed me of breath!

I was driving, and Hubby gave me directions, so it was a bit of a magical mystery tour.
We found a rather nice (and popular) pub which overlooked a stretch of the River Severn, so decided to stop and encourage Maggie to swim.
I’ve said many times that she had never made any attempt whatsoever to jump in the marina or the River Avon on our travels, despite the heat of the day, yet when we’ve gone down to Hamworthy, she’s in the water like a shot, as these pictures prove!
 

We walked down to the river’s edge and encouraged her to get her feet wet.
You could almost see the bliss on her face when she stood up to her ankles in the cool, if slightly muddy, water.
Hubby found a small stick and threw it just over her head as we were aware that the river bed ‘shelved’ quite quickly. She was soon swimming away contentedly, bringing the stick proudly back to us to look at, but not touch!

Not wishing to overtire or chill her, we returned to the car, she carrying her new ‘friend’.
I could imagine this going through her mind:

This is my stick.
There are many sticks like it, but this one is mine.
Without me, my stick is nothing, just as I am nothing without my stick.
My stick will see me through my journey, and will give me comfort.
My stick is my best friend, and I am my stick’s best friend.
It will stay with me on the back seat, and I will guard it.
You cannot take my stick.
It is mine and mine alone.
This is not Maggie, neither is this her stick, but you get the idea

We gave her a drink of water, then returned home, doing a little bit of shopping on the way.  Hubby rinsed her down with the hose in the back garden then gave her a thorough drying off with a towel. She’s slept most of the afternoon.
The water has revived her considerably, and even better, there is some serious air movement and temperatures are dropping.

All being well then we should have a decent night’s sleep tonight.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Dogs, Maggie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot Dog sizzles

  1. Maybe she needs a kiddie pool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

