Tuesday Photo Challenge – History

I hated History at school. It probably didn’t help that my teacher was old enough to be in a museum. However, she proved she had a young heart when we visited the British Museum on a field trip to see the Tutankhamen exhibition.
How? I caught her reading The Beano on the train.

But I digress.
This is Frank’s challenge this week, and his topics and photos are much more interesting than mine!
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/43011194/posts/1515949438

Frank used this lovely picture in May, and for that challenge I wrote about my Mum, my bear, and my Dad’s cardy!

This time however, I’m going back to school, and a comment from my Maths teacher (who was equally old and spinsterish as were 98% of the grammar school staff then).

During an algebra class, a plane flew overhead, and looking at the sky she suddenly changed the subject saying what a miracle flight was.
A boring lesson suddenly became alive with her thoughts on The Wright Brothers and how the birth of planes had been a part of history during her lifetime. I don’t think she ever had such an attentive audience thereafter, but it does make you think, doesn’t it.
I was 35 before I had my first flight. Totally awesome, and Hubby asked the stewardess if I could possibly go up and meet the Captain in the front cabin. Wow.

With her thoughts in mind, I’ve been thinking about modern history, and what truly outstanding events have occurred during my life.

Top of my list has to be the Moon Landing in July 1969. I remember being allowed to stay up into the middle of the night and watch on TV as that first step was taken.

Fast forward and just over 20 years later, The Berlin Wall came down.

Then we had the horrors of 9/11 in 2001, a time when I was working for an American Bank.

More recently, our Queen, Elizabeth II, has become the longest reigning monarch of our country.

There are obviously other things of significance worldwide that have happened since 1956.
However, my Personal History was archived in 1989, the year I met Hubby.
None of it mattered apart from it being a learning curve and stepping stone to the person I am today.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, photoprompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tuesday Photo Challenge – History

  1. John Holton says:

    I take it Beano’s the kids’ version of Punch or Viz?

  2. jansenphoto says:

    Great walk through history!

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Photo Challenge – Round Up 64 – Dutch goes the Photo!

  4. This is a great post! I love how you shared what events happened during your life time. It has me wanting to think and do the same! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Believe it or not I read Beano in my youth in the Anglo-Caribbean (West Indies).

Leave a Reply

