FFfAW Challenge-Week of July 4, 2017

This is challenge No 122: click here for details

https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/07/03/fffaw-challenge-week-of-july-4-2017-2/

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Kecia Spartin.

I’ve never been afraid of snakes. Guess it comes from having slow worms as a kid, Grandad making an artificial home for them out of an old bird-cage.
Sis and I scared our Mum when she was in the outside loo by putting them under the door.
We’d found it hysterical, the screams amid the rustle of corsets and petticoats.
Looking back, her fear could’ve triggered a heart attack, but then you don’t think of things like that when you’re five, do you.
There’s a picture of me somewhere with a 20 foot python round my neck. About 1986 I think it was. Beautiful creature. Mum was with me the day we’d visited the Aquarium’s reptile house with the foster kids. She was cowering in the corner, but was amazed at my ‘courage’. I was fascinated by its warmth.

It’s a bit of a different story now, having heard warnings of adders where we used to walk Maggie in the woods. The warm weather brings them out to bathe. Take care people.
They’ll see you, but you may not see them. Keep your dog close.

 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, photoprompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to FFfAW Challenge-Week of July 4, 2017

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    I am terrified of snakes! Thankfully there aren’t many where I stay 🙂

  2. Yikes! Stay out of the woods! Creepy ending. Great story! What are slow worms? Worms that are slow? LOL!

  3. yarnspinnerr says:

    I like this balanced take on this prompt.

  4. L.E.R.T says:

    I’m not fond of snakes, especially the venomous ones. Your quote about the loo reminded me of a John Grisham book ‘The Painted House.’ That being said, I enjoyed your take on the prompt. Cheers, Varad

    • Thanks for your comment. The only venomous snake in the UK is the adder (viper). My Mum doesn’t like snakes, nor did she like the slow worms and sand lizards Sis and I kept as children. I must’ve been a horrible child at times!

    • Thank you. My Mum doesn’t like snakes, or the slow worms and lizards my sister and I kept. I must’ve been a horrible child!!

  5. James says:

    “Snakes. Why did it have to be snakes?” -Indiana Jones

    I’m with Indy. Can’t stand snakes.

  6. michael1148humphris says:

    Often children do not see danger. I have alway since childhood enjoyed seeing adders, but these days I have a healthy regard for them.

  7. I really enjoyed reading this! You’ve showed an excellent understanding of human nature, particularly with the line, “looking back, her fear could’ve triggered a heart attack, but then you don’t think of things like that when you’re five, do you”. Great take on the prompt, too! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. Michael says:

    Excellent tale Di, so well done. I recently had a brown snake in the backyard and I kept well away.

  9. I am petrified of snakes even though there are many snakes in my neighborhood.
    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/07/the-modern-eve.html

  10. I could have told this story! Well done!
    The Lesson
    Annie at ~McGuffy’s Reader~

  11. Good gracious! I am afraid of snakes, but I like your balanced approach.

Leave a Reply

