Sunday Writing Prompt – July 2, 2017: Love Flowers

I love flowers, and luckily for me Hubby buys them for no apparent reason, just the thought that I might like some.

This is the prompt this week:
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/19271780/posts/1513670289

It’s a glorious day, so I thought I’d pay you a visit. Not that I need an excuse you understand, just that I want to be with you, to share the day, the sun, the moment.
You love flowers. It doesn’t matter if it’s a simple posy of daisies and buttercups from the fields and hedgerows, or a master bouquet wrapped in ribbon and cellophane costing the earth, both are received with the same enthusiasm and pleasure.
It’s one of the many things I love about you.

I decided on roses, bluebells and poppies, sheltered by a sprig of laurel as I lay them before you.
You are forever in sleep My Love, whereas I am dependent on others until my bones mend.
A drowsy bee passes by and I can sense your smile. Hoping he will alight on my offering,  my heart swells at the thought, and when he does, I laugh.
I miss you so very much.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Writing Prompt – July 2, 2017: Love Flowers

  1. How lovely and heartfelt Di! This is sensitive and wistful, yet quietly accepting, and even – hmmm – soulful. I like how you’ve written something that hints at the depths, and leaves just enough “missing” for us to consider and contemplate – loss and longing, and yet, a simple pleasure – the ending, the last few lines – absolutely gorgeous. Truly a wonderful post – thanks for playing the Sunday writing prompt 🙂

  2. Jael Sook says:

    I felt the bittersweet note–a very lovely write ❤

Leave a Reply

