What’s Cookin’ ?

With my covering letter from the GP asking me to make an appointment for a blood test and Orange diabetes check which I had already done the week before, was a diet sheet.
Not a diet sheet listing what I could eat, but a diary diet sheet of what I had eaten the week before my diabetes appointment (due 10th July).
With all of the sheets I’ve done for  Slimming World, plus the food diary I continue to keep for my own records, it’s a bit like Deja Vu or shutting the stable door after the horse has bolted!

Most of my readers know both Hubby and I love to cook, though I tend to do most of it being Queen of the Two Pan Dinner.
It’s a bit of a novelty using an oven sometimes for our main meals, though just cooking one thing at a time is not practical, so I try to double or triple up when I do.

Today I’ve prepared a cauliflower cheese for the three of us, with extra veggies (broccoli and carrots) for me in keeping with the third of a plate being speed food.
For dessert, I have opted for a traditional plum crumble (so there will be fat and sugar in it rather than my dry porridge oats and granola topping) with custard.
No quark left, so I shall be having custard too and that is knocking up the syns a bit.


Bear in mind it’s a small dinner plate and the dessert bowl is smaller still!

Still, I have allowed for it, plums being a speed fruit, and I’ve had raspberries on my breakfast with the less speedy banana and blueberries, and a handful of non speedy grapes during the day.

Since my last foodie post, the only ‘new meals’ have been a ham and poached eggs  breakfast (one bubbled and belched in the pan!) and gammon with veg and jacket potato.
Now if you’re wondering what my potato filling is, let me tell you it was a gift from N on her holiday and is a carrot cake chutney/preserve.
It is totally delicious, wonderful in a jacket spud, on salad instead of mayo, and cheese?
Oh yeah, to die for, and the syns are about 3 per tablespoon.

So as we speak of deja vu and food, here are shots of some old favourites which have previously been posted.

A couple of sweet and sour dishes.

A couple of curries


A couple of breakfasts


A couple of dinners


A couple of desserts

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Cookin’ ?

  1. amommasview says:

    All of this looks delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

