Writing prompt 25th June, Mothers

You can check out Oloriel’s challenge here.
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/19271780/posts/1506771395

I’ve always tried to be a good daughter, though in the majority of cases distance has played an important factor and I haven’t been able to visit as much as I’d like, or as some would consider, I should.
I’ve written about being the Other Daughter , poetry for Mother’s Day, and a variety of posts about our visits Down South, not all of them good. There are linkages here.

In fact, I was talking about my Mum today, and the time we went down for the weekend to look after Mum to give my sister a well deserved break.
It felt wonderful talking about how I sat at the piano and played the golden oldies, hearing my Mum singing or humming in the other room as I played, reeling back the years to a time she could remember with such clarity.

Now 95, she remembers more from 40 odd years ago than what she had for breakfast, or if she did in fact eat her breakfast. Dementia does that.
I don’t ring because I know it confuses and perplexes her not to be able to put a face to the voice on the end of the phone. I write every week, and she reads, and re-reads my letters, knowing who they are from. It doesn’t matter what the date on it is, to her it is always a new and current letter. I don’t expect to get a reply, but I write anyway.
I will always be her baby, even though she forgets my age, and for years always got my name wrong, calling me by my sister’s name, and my sister by mine. Now, she gets it right.
I find that endearingly odd after all this time.

I love her dearly, and will protect her from pain or worry as much as I am able.

 

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, Family, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing prompt 25th June, Mothers

  1. Lorraine says:

    Strange, isn’t it, how dementia shifts focus so that yesterday is today. Your letters to your mother not only nourish her now, but will sustain you in the future. They leave a record of the two of you — indelible and strong.

  2. With aging, letters become more and more appreciated and valued. It wasn’t dreamed – like a visit could have been. It’s real – something solid to be held in their hands and revisited for more smile…and they get to show them off to others around them sometimes, one of my ancient uncles said with a twinkle in his eye.
    Letters take time and thought – and things have to be shoved off to get them done…they know that. You’re the good child, never doubt.

    • Thank you for such a positive comment. With so much going on at the moment, getting down to see Mum has had to take a back seat which is why I ensure a letter goes off every week. We have a family wedding next month, so it will be lovely to see her then and we’ll look after her for the day so that my sister can concentrate on other things.

Leave a Reply

