June 22: Flash Fiction Challenge

In dreams,  all is not as it seems.
Click here for Charli’s challenge this week.
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/12307624/posts/1504379672

June 22, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that involves a dream. This action could have happened while awake, such as daydreaming, or make up a dream when asleep. Go where the prompt leads as it could be a nightmare or just fond memories or ambition.

The organ blasted out ‘Here comes the bride’.
What was I doing here?
This wasn’t what I wanted or needed.
The pews were full, of people I didn’t know.
Was I in the right place?
I walked alone up the aisle, no-one to give me away.
My groom had his back to me.
His stance was unfamiliar, strange to see a Morning Suit.
Oohs and aahs echoed all around me.
I looked down to see I was stark naked.
Exposed for the fraud I was perhaps?
The music stopped.
So did I.
He turned slowly.
A man without a face.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in #flash fiction, blogging, Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to June 22: Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. scifihammy says:

    Wow – totally unexpected! Well done. 🙂

  2. susanzutautas says:

    Spooky!

  3. floridaborne says:

    I think I went to a wedding like that once. 🙂

    Seriously, what is it about dreaming we’re naked? Even in our dreams we’re rushing around looking for clothing, or standing around embarrassed out of our minds.

  4. Charli Mills says:

    Oh, the naked dream that bares us all (or, is that bares all of us?). Great additional details, too to give it an eerie and surreal tone.

  5. jeanne229 says:

    Yes, the naked dream! The setting of yours makes it all the more disturbing. The man without a face–great metaphor for how little we really know even those who should be closest to us.

  6. Oh, this is definitely a bad dream. Well written.

  7. Pingback: Dreaming « Carrot Ranch Communications

Leave a Reply

