Depends on the Day

Today is Monday, the day following Sunday that heralds the start of a new week.
A day when most of my working colleagues were miserable or grumpy because the weekend was over and they were about to be stuck in an office for five days until the next one.
A day I was cheerful not just to annoy them, and because I enjoyed my job.

Today, I went up to the doctor’s surgery as my diabetes appointment still hadn’t come through and I was more than a little anxious about my foot.
Today, I saw a different receptionist, a smiling receptionist, one who actually listened to me and didn’t palm me off with I’d rather drink my coffee than talk to you ‘I can’t do anything until you get your letter’.

Today, Monday, not only did I get a date for my diabetes blood test, AND a date for the follow up diabetes check up, but I also got an appointment to see MY PREFERRED GP,  before 10am, today.

Diagnosis on my foot is a bone problem, which could be either arthritis or gout. She wants me to have a blood test to determine which and this can be tacked on to my diabetes test next week. The gout test is either yes or no, and if positive can be treated, though she thinks it’s more likely to be arthritis as the pain is by my littlest piggy, not the big ‘un.
Anti inflammatory pills are prescribed together with the antacid sidekicks, but knowing  they will affect my diabetes readouts, I am holding fire on getting it filled until after the tests.
The doc asked how I was overall and said she’d had a letter from my Consultant Surgeon following my breast clinic appointment a couple of weeks ago. Apparently they are all well pleased with my progress and how well I’ve healed (but not half as much as I am!).

So, to banish the Monday blues, have a smile at these>

Note to self:
Avoid the Thursday receptionist (or go in armed with coffee)

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, health, humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Depends on the Day

  1. If the coffee is for the Thursday receptionist you may get really great service!

  2. Now, if only all Mondays (and receptionists) could be so productive and happy!

  3. Pingback: Diabetes check | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

