The Puzzle of Order

Jumbled thoughts, a confused mind,
Screams for order.
Pieced together, nothing fits,
Chaos rules in my head.
Jagged edges, colours clash,
Twists and turns to match,
Gaps narrow, shapes form,
Error somewhere, regroup.
Straight lines, curves and faces,
Swim in space, placed together,
Theme connects, false triumph
Control spirals away.
Almost back where I started,
Begin again, different tactic.
Madness method, sort by shape,
Trays of colour, not connected,
Works for me, order pending:
Seven Days, finally winning,
Sixteen gaps, 16 pieces,
One tray left, won’t be beaten,
Piece 1000 in place.
All present, puzzle done,
Feeling calmer:
Order restored.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in hobbies and interests, miscellaneous, My life, Personal Thoughts, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Puzzle of Order

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Great poem 🙂 I don’t have the patience for puzzles!

    • I love them, and there is always one on the go here, which is great for sorting out a confused mind (when the light’s right!) Some of the pattern is repeated so closely together pieces seem to fit and it’s not until you have four pieces that don’t fit in the four remaining holes that you discover your mistake!

  2. scifihammy says:

    It’s great fun doing jigsaws 🙂 You are lucky that when you got to the end, the number of pieces left matched the number of spaces. With LM around here I usually end up short! (She eats them!)

    • Ha! Now that’s funny!
      MSM has got a little bag of odd pieces of puzzle she’s found lying around. As to where they belong, we have no idea and I’m not prepared to do umpteen to find out! I suppose when she’s got over 500 she’ll put them together as a piece of modern art (she’s very creative!). My big fjjord puzzle was a nightmare. I had four pieces left over, and four spaces, but they wouldn’t fit in at all, not even close! Turned out I’d made an error with a reflection which was so slight, it knocked everything else out! We framed that one, but it ended up going to charity in the great sort out.

      • scifihammy says:

        It’s so annoying when that happens – pieces are so similar that we’ve put them together wrong. I enjoy the 1000 piece puzzles, but also have many 500, that you can progress well with and so enjoy the process.
        My friend gave me a 3000 piece puzzle a few years ago. I did complete it – had it on the dining table and simply covered with a cloth when it was dinner time! But it was hard work and not so much fun, more “I jolly well won’t be beaten by this!” 😀
        Winter time is my puzzle time 🙂

      • My great uncle was the same. Each Winter he would get in a dozen bottles of sherry and a dozen 1000 piece puzzles. One for One he called it. He’d frame the finished article and hang it somewhere, giving the previous occupant of the wall space to family or charity.

      • scifihammy says:

        Sounds like the perfect winter hobby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

