Reality Show

I’m not a fan of these, but something caught my eye this weekend, and whilst I’m not exactly hooked into becoming a dedicated fan, I appreciate the expertise, encouragement and achievements of all concerned.
I’m talking about professional trainer Chris Powell and his Extreme Weight Loss programme.
He’s a good looking guy with fantastic eyes and a great body (I may be over 60, but I’m not dead), a lovely wife who is also part of his programme, and comes across as someone who actually cares about the individuals he helps.
In my opinion:

The weight losses were awesome, hundreds of pounds, over the course of a year, so megga big tick for it not being promoted as a quick fix.
So many people want to see results quickly, and as soon as they reach target, go back to their old habits only to regain those shed pounds and a few more besides.

Another tick was encouraging a change in eating habits.
If nothing else with Slimming World, over the past twelve months I have learned that you don’t have to starve to lose weight. In fact when you do, it can be counterproductive.

Exercise was under supervision and I felt tired just watching. But this was a professional trainer who encouraged, not ridiculed.
He did not bully his subjects, but pushed them to their maximum capabilities with encouragement.

He got to know the Inner Person, not just the outer shell.
Weight problems can stem from a multitude of reasons: a lack of self worth, trying to please peers, grief, bullying, and teasing to name just a few.
One member of the PE staff at grammar school was forever on my case, ridiculing me for being heavy to such an extent that I began to feel guilty putting anything in my mouth when she was on dinner duty knowing she was watching.

His interim targets (each at 90 days) were not unreasonable.
In one programme, he was baffled that the weight lost wasn’t as much as anticipated.
The guy concerned was cheating by eating pizzas and all bad foods and not exercising.
Give CP his due, he walked, as the guy blatantly lied about it and he felt he was wasting his time (though at the end of the show he made an appearance and he had lost a considerable amount of weight saying it was the wake up call and kick in the butt he needed)

Reasons for losing weight can also be complex.
I agreed entirely when it was said that you have to do it for YOU, not because someone told you to or it was expected.
There’s a lot of truth in that, mind you, putting your health first has to come into it.

I’ve seen diet programmes before, followed fitness regime videos (albeit half heartedly) and read plenty of books and literature on the subject. I’d always seen dieting as big business, because as the pounds drop off, a third party’s bank balance swelled.
I suppose because I started my SW journey a year ago, this programme registered more as it was in the same timeframe, but at the end of the day, those weight losses were amazing.
I can see where some of the SW quotes generated!

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in film/tv/book, food, health, Just a thought, Opinions, weight issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality Show

  1. As my Mother’s family were overweight, I never worried about my weight. I was never really over weight just in the heavy side. I seem to be stable now only about 5#s over my actual weight. Congratulations on your successful weight lost.

Leave a Reply

