Saturday’s Mix–17 June 2017

Thanks Teresa. Some really interesting facts you’ve listed here!
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/19271780/posts/1498112687

I remember Janis Ian’s song ‘At Seventeen’ from 1975 though I was actually 19 at the time.
However, being 17 was not a good time for me. I was just getting the hang of boyfriends and was terribly naive about the opposite sex.
Sis had had boyfriends for years and to be honest I hadn’t been that interested. None of that soggy tonsil tennis and wearing scarves on hot days to hide vampire marks for me thank you very much!

At 17, I had been in work for a year and come October 1973, I changed my employer and went to work for a bank.
I had my first ‘heartbreak’ romance, a guy I’d been writing to in the army came to visit and took me home to meet his family, then dumped me on his friends because I wouldn’t put out. He found someone who did and did the honourable thing (you can understand how old fashioned I was!) when she found herself pregnant.
The marriage didn’t last and a year later he looked me up again. Very politely over a cup of coffee at lunch time (he paid), my second word was Off.

Seventeen is an inbetween number, a bit like the week between Christmas and New Year.
At 16, you’re old enough to (legally) have sex and get married with parental permission, but not recognised as an adult or able to vote until you’re 18.
Apart from Janis Ian, I can’t think of any other songs about being seventeen. Neil Sedaka sang Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen, and Paul Hardcastle sang ’19’.
I must admit though I would not want to be seventeen again.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday’s Mix–17 June 2017

  1. weejars says:

    Couldn’t agree with you more! 17 was an awkward in between year for me too! Almost an ‘adult’ but not quite…and the not quite was what mattered

  2. Michael says:

    I think if we knew at 17 what we know now it might have been different.

Leave a Reply

