Moment of Truth

Weigh In tonight, and after Hubby’s gain in just five days, I’m curious to know if my efforts have paid off.
The house scales were smiling this morning, but that doesn’t mean a thing.

Also, being weighed late in the day probably doesn’t help, but saying that, as I weigh myself the following morning and it’s nearly always the same as my official weigh in the night before, it still works as a good guide.
My food sheet is all prepared plus my analysis of the previous two weeks.
I am also going in armed with my calculated recipe for the lasagna I made over the weekend. This served four (ie. us for two days) but could possibly do a family of 5.
It’s not a SW recipe though (theirs is totally free as they use slightly different ingredients).

This is before it went in the oven.

Ingredients:

The Frees:
250g         5% fat minced pork or minced beef
1 large chopped onion
1 large chopped carrot
large handful chopped peppers
1 stock cube
6 sheets dry lasagna pasta
1 tin chopped tomatoes
sliced tomato (or halved cherry toms) for garnish.

The Syns:
150g grated cheddar cheese          30
500 ml skimmed milk                       7½
25g SR flour                                        4

Method:
I cooked the meat first and drained off the fat before adding the chopped ingredients and stock cube.
In a separate pan I made my cheese sauce, keeping back sufficient cheese to sprinkle on the top.

In the baking dish, I layered the meat mixture, 3 sheets of lasagna, cheese sauce, and then the last of the meat, another 3 sheets of lasagna and the last of the cheese sauce.
Then, I sprinkled the rest of the grated cheese on top and decorated with my tomatoes,
putting it in the oven at 180º c for half an hour or until bubbling and brown.
Looks good, yes?

Approximate cost was as follows:
meat                                            £1.78
onions/veg/toms                     £1.00 max
tin of tomatoes                              .29p
lasagna sheets                               .23p (box of 20 cost 65p)
cheese                                         £1.00  (350g block cost £2.18)

This was therefore the biggest syn dinner of the week, but even then equated to 10½ per portion.
In comparison, a 400g pack of beef lasagna attracts 14 syns and will set you back around a pound for a supermarket budget line, but will only serve one.

So, down to the nitty gritty. How did I do?

Not only did I lose three pounds, but I have helped at least seven other group members who were having gains or no loss lately. Even though they were doing all the right things, they were making the same mistake as I did about fruit.
My analysis showed (and you can check it out in the SW Bible on the fruit page), although all fruit is free, not all fruit is speed food.
Just in case you thought these were:
Bananas, blueberries, cherries, lychees, kiwi fruit, mangoes, pineapples, grapes, and pomegranates are NOT. Those in bold type are the ones that I was having a lot of.
There are others that I don’t have like figs, but check them out if you’re not sure.

I came out tonight feeling much better than I have for a few weeks, and just two pounds away from target. Whether I’ll reach it next week is unknown, but at least I stand a better chance since I shall have strawberries instead of blueberries on my cereal, and melon instead of mango, pineapple or grapes.
As an added bonus, I won the raffle and came home with the ingredients for a mediterranean vegetable bake. N won the other prize which was salad stuff. She put on 3½ pounds this week so is back in her target parameters again.
It’s been a good day (and we got the all clear from the dentist too!).

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in food, observations, recipes, weight issues, Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moment of Truth

  1. Good job! If there is anything I overeat it’s fruit. It will bloat me up but it’s in season right now and tastes so good.

    • Soft fruit uis still quite pricey over here, but there are special offers to be had. Just picked up a whole honeydew melon for a couple of pounds. That should last me at least 4 days, and it’s good fibre!

      • Some of it is pricey here too. I bought (and ate) 2 lbs. of sweet cherries but I got them for $7 which is a bargain (although I never should have eaten them all…no self control!).

      • Cherries aren’t classed as speed food, but are included in the frozen black forest mix we buy sometimes with blackberries and blackcurrants which are. I was like that with grapes, and could eat the entire pack!

  2. scifihammy says:

    yay! Three Cheers – One for each pound! 😀

Leave a Reply

