Wordle #159

It’s Monday!
Scrap the Monday Blues, and get stuck in with this week’s Wordle challenge which is much more fun!
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/19271780/posts/1491663753

1. Bite
2. Smooth
3. Open
4. Deserve
5. Paradox
6. Semaphorism (n.)) a conversational hint that you have something personal to say on the subject but don’t go any further—an emphatic nod, a half-told anecdote, an enigmatic ‘I know the feeling’—which you place into conversations like those little flags that warn diggers of something buried underground: maybe a cable that secretly powers your house, maybe a fiberoptic link to some foreign country.)
7. Tension
8. Playhouse
9. Neptune
10. Stalemate
11. Muse
12. Thieves

Use at least 10 of the words to create a story or poem.

She could almost feel the smooth texture beneath her tongue.
To thwart potential thieves, the kids playhouse was the only place she could hide her stash. Having reached a stalemate now she’d more or less given up anyway.
She was tired of their semaphorisms, getting nowhere, and longed for a paradox solution.
Just one bite, that’s all she’d wanted, simply open her mouth, let her teeth gently meet.
The box said ‘Neptune Bars’, the contents advertised as having the densest chocolate on the planet.
Ah, chocolate.
Chocolate was her muse.
Nestling back amongst the cushions, she felt the tension drain from her body.
She deserved this.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in #flash fiction, blogging, Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wordle #159

  1. Ha! That’s a fun write. 🙂
    -HA

  2. Oh I love it! Chocolate is a wonderful muse and it certainly improves my mood!

    • I love it too, but have to be careful as sadly once the pack is open, it wont last and that’s doing neither my diet or diabetes any good!

      • I keep a bar of dark chocolate on hand it helps me with cravings and since I only eat one square at a time it isn’t so bad. I don’t have any illnesses as serious as diabetes but I do have thyroid problems and I have to be careful with what I eat because I gain very easily

  3. Jael Sook says:

    I dare say much chocolate has been consumed as Muse!! 🙂

    • I love the stuff, but as long as the packet remains sealed, I can leave well alone. Not so Hubby, he’s a chocoholic and then some. 🙂

      • Jael Sook says:

        I used to be a chocoholic, but something happened and now my system just doesn’t tolerate it (hardly any sweets)–I’m thinking this is a good thing 🙂

      • I still have my sweet tooth but have to be careful as I’m a type 2 diabetic.

      • Jael Sook says:

        I have a Dr’s appt today–lab work says I may now be type 2, also 😦

      • I was diagnosed in 2011, and on no medication, controlling it all by diet. Good luck. Let me know how you get on?

      • Jael Sook says:

        Thanks so much for your encouragement–much appreciated 🙂

      • I have to admit I’ve found being diabetic is not as fearful as I thought it would be and have been really lucky. My sugars and BP were usually OK, my weight fluctuated a bit, but my cholesterol was always an issue with the doc, who was statins obsessed and I always declined. We moved away from that area in 2014 and things have been much better with a different GP who sees me as an individual patient, not a number on a database and a ticklist. My weight problem has been addressed big time this past year thanks to a 12 week free course with SW which I’ve stuck with (lots of posts and self recipes). I have my annual diabetes check on July 10 (blood tests today) so it will be interesting to see how much has changed since I’ve lost weight, especially the cholesterol.
        My mother is also type 2, has been for over 20 years, and hers is controlled by diet too. Hopefully yours can be too, but your doc or diabetes nurse will support and advise you. My sweet tooth and I have come to an agreement and I let it loose from time to time! Every one is different (ask plenty of questions!!)

      • Jael Sook says:

        I’m not feeling fearful, so that’s good. And my issue is that I’m a carb junkie, rather than sweets–but of course, carbs turn into sugar in the body…. I left a comment at your blog, take good care of YOU! 🙂

      • Bless you, thanks!

      • Jael Sook says:

        Most welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

