SoCS 10th June : Admit

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “admit.” Use it any way you’d like. Have fun!

Thanks Linda.
https://lindaghill.com/2017/06/09/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-1017/

I have to admit, I think I may have failed myself.
I have honestly been recording my meals in my food diary since starting SW a year ago.
The only exceptions have been while we were away from the marina, when shopping for things like fruit and fresh veg have been a little difficult, but even then I tried to keep on track.

The diet record sheet is divided into sections to list Speed foods, Free foods, A and B options and syns. In my diary, I have recorded my actual meals, A and B options and listed my syns.
Out of curiosity, I have handwritten on a standard A4 sheet of paper my food diary in the same style as the SW diet record sheet for the previous 2 weeks to this one.
I shall be taking this with me on Tuesday.
I have noticed something.

I am eating plenty of Speed food (fruit and veg included either in my recipes or as a side on my plate), Free food (jacket potatoes, rice, pasta, eggs, meats, fruit such as bananas, blueberries, mangoes) and listing my syns.
But………………..
I had forgotten dried apricots when I had them as they are One Syn each, though technically this should not have made that much difference.
One day we had a Subway sandwich, which even though was one of the lower calories and I had no dressing on it, it still attracted 14 syns on its own.
On the days we were out, we either skipped a meal or had a sandwich deal from a supermarket or garage sharing the sandwich and packet of crisps between us.

My cheese sauce for cauliflower or McCheese is made with milk from my allowance, and I’ve synned the cheese if it wasn’t my A option.
Sugar added to my sweet and sour sauce or curries has been synned correctly but I did forget to syn the sultanas, even though they were just a handful.

So my conclusion is this:
Although I owned up to my syns, I don’t seem to have admitted enough by omission.
Oops.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SoCS 10th June : Admit

  1. Jami Carder says:

    Even attempting to manage what you were doing with all of this recording and keeping track is a pretty amazing feat!

    • Thanks Jami. I confess (or should I say admit as per my title) it has been a good tool to do it, as well as take photos of my meals and put them out on my blog. Will be interesting to see what’s said and the results on Tuesday!

  2. Michael says:

    Diets are hard work Di, I am supposed to be on one and its a matter of fail some days and manage to break even on other days.

    • I’ve been with SW for a year and seen posiive results so I’m quite happy really. It’s just this last half stone to target that is evading me, but I won’t be defeated. I suppose I’m doing things backwards (not unusual actually) and maintaining my weight now even though I haven’t got where I wanted to be! At least it’s not piling back on!!

Leave a Reply

