Grub Up!

As promised, I have religiously been keeping my foodsheet and diary to keep track of what I actually eat every day.
I am keeping it downstairs in the kitchen so I don’t forget to update it, and can’t miss anything.
After just two days, it has been an interesting  re-visited exercise, but not for the reasons I thought it might be.
My usual A option is 350ml of skimmed (UHT) milk although I may have cheese instead and syn my milk. My B option is granola cereal, but this is not actually one of the preferred varieties. According to the SW food planner, 25g of it attracts 5 syns, so as B options seem to have 6 syns as a rule, I am having 30g for my breakfast, adding whatever fruit I fancy.
I’d been allowing myself 15 syns a day as originally agreed and confess I have over sinned on many occasions, but it’s not been every day and I tried to compensate on subsequent days.

Now whether this is a guilt rather than awareness thing, but on Wednesday I only had five syns (½ for mayo, I allowed 2 for a sprinkle of coconut on my curry, and 2½ for a meringue I had for dessert with fruit and quark), and today I have had 5½ syns (½ for mayo, 2 for cheese on my gammon, and 3 for an Alpen Light cereal bar).
I have honestly not cheated.

The key has always been to make a third of your plate speed food wherever possible. Blueberries, bananas, mangoes and pineapple are not speed foods, but the other fruit I have is. Nearly all veg is speed food, although potatoes aren’t and don’t count as one of your 5 a day.
I have cooked from scratch, used the lowest fat content meat as recommended and drained off excess fat anyway, plus I do not use oil or spread. If I use a frying pan, I cook in water, and rarely have bread now, which if I do, I have it as my B option and either forego or syn my cereal.

Hubby has been supportive in trying to eat the same as me this week, but he’s hungry more often and so reaches for the biscuits rather than fruit. I have deliberately not bought any, though he likes meringues so I compromise, happy to have one, whereas he has two.

If I keep this up, it will be interesting to see how weigh in goes next Tuesday.
Incidentally, my box of 16 Ferrero Rochet is still intact.

This is what I’ve had as main meals since my last foodie post.

Left: Chicken curry.  Right: chicken breast dinner

Left: 2 egg mushroom omelette and salad. Right: pork salad and half jacket potato

Left: prawns and braeburn apple with salad. Right: spaghetti bolognese (5% fat minced beef).

Above: gammon with sprinkle of cheese, mixed veg.

Our group leader asked me to contact her after a couple of days so I sent her a text message tonight telling her of my strategy and progress.
We’ll see what happens.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in food, observations, Photos, weight issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grub Up!

  1. bethanyk says:

    Holy yum that looks fabulous!!! We hired a nutritionist for our daughter because of her stomach issues and have changed our diet completely. I cannot make a million meals so I eat what she eats. We cut sugar, gluten, soy, all junk and chips and sugary things and drinks.
    Making everything from scratch is difficult but it is so much healthier. It is how we all should be eating! Time consuming though. Fortunately my husband helps out

    • My Hubby helps too as he likes the end results! I cut salt from our diet years ago, but both of us have a sweet tooth so although we dont have sugar in tea or coffee, we like our sweets and meringues, in moderation of course. Both of us love to cook so most of our meals are from scratch anyway. Luckily our time is our own, so I can do that.

      • bethanyk says:

        We have added some Himalayan salt and I love it. It has many nutrients in it. We have also added nutritional yeast because of the health benefits. I love to cook. I have been limited due to my illness but I still try. They are less eleboarrate. Glad to hear someone else cooks from scratch too!

  2. Pingback: Not for Him | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

