Handbags by Ford

My handbag is falling apart, mind you, it is the only one I have and I’ve used it every day for over three years.
It has handles and an over-the-shoulder strap and the design is such that it has a single zipped compartment with a phone pouch and small zipped pocket on the inside, and a side zipped compartment.
It is annoying in that if I put anything in the side compartment, it pushes against the inside, which in turn forces everything to the bottom and holds it down!
Now there lies the next problem. I can never find anything in it as whatever I want is always at the bottom buried under everything else.

Dangling on the side, thanks to the greed of supermarkets charging 5p for a carrier bag (spares I used to carry in the side pocket), are two ‘bag in a bag’ bags.

They are terrific as they are sturdy, lightweight, and compact. They are also a lot stronger than the carrier bags you continue to pay for in the supermarkets and cost less than 80p each!

My keys are on a bolt ring which I clip to the bag’s handle ring but keep them inside so at least I can fish them out quite quickly when I need them.
My phone. Phone pouch? Useless. It falls out to ……………… yep, the bottom.
Purse? Again, sinks to the bottomless pit of my bag. Same goes for Hubby’s wallet if I carry it.

Hubby laughs at me, saying I carry a suitcase, not a handbag. In fact when I was working, I did have a bag with four individual compartments which not only held my purse and phone, but also my book and packed lunch amongst other things. Today I suppose it would be classed as a lethal weapon as if I swung it, it would have given anyone a nasty headache, if not knocking them out completely.
Today, we went shopping for a new bag, one for every day use but which would be suitable to go with my new frock for the wedding, so I wanted navy blue.
I tried no less than seven shops only to find anything in that colour either had patterns, studs or bows on it, was way too small, or was a large beachbag which could possibly have carried the bride as well as my stuff.
Now if I wanted black, I was spoilt for choice, all suitable but way beyond my pocket anyway. I did however get a rather snazzy hair slide which will go with my frock.

There are times when I could thump Hubby for being so smug. I’d walked through the arcade visiting shops along the way and came out the other side empty handed.
Back at Hubby’s seat, he left me with the dog and went inside himself. When he came out, he was all grinning and smiling, and I knew what that meant.
Somehow,I had missed the internal market right at the bottom and he had seen a bag stall.
Back in I went, and sure enough, it was the next section after the empty one where I’d initially turned left. I could’ve kicked myself.
Loads to choose from. And in navy too.
The one I settled on is the same size as the one I have now, with two handles and  shoulder strap. It has two zipped compartments (a deeper phone pouch and inside pocket in one) plus an outside small zipped compartment on both sides, one of which is extendable so no internally pregnant pushy problem.
Best bit of all? Half the price of the nearest (black) one that came even close, so I treated Hubby to a new wallet as his was in a worse state than my handbag.

Note:
For my younger readers,
Henry Ford (the car maker) once said you could have any colour you want, as long as it was black, hence my title.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Opinions, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

