What a difference a year makes: 6th June 2017

June 7th 2016 was my first weigh in at Slimming World.
I had a bit of a shock as I was almost a stone heavier than I thought I was, but then I tend to get confused with weight being in Kilos, pounds, or stones and pounds.

I had my diabetes appointment the same week and weighed in heavier at that. I was not too impressed that Nursey rounded my weight UP!
I have since seen my GP who has officially recorded my weight since joining SW and described it as ‘falling off a cliff’. She was well pleased!
Ha, wonder what Ms Diabetes Nurse will say, as I am a good 5 kilos lighter than that now.
So much has happened these past twelve months, mostly concerning health issues.
I wonder what is in store for us in the next twelve.

For now though, the question is how did I do tonight?
As expected, another small gain so this coming week I am keeping an official food sheet for our group leader as she is convinced I’m not keeping a proper record of my syns, everything I eat or measuring my A and B options.
I’ve come away from group angry and frustrated, but I’ll play ball.
Looking at my weigh in log, I have lost everything I’ve put on and overall am losing at a rate of about a pound a month since March.
‘You’ve lost a quarter!!’ from WW all those years ago is ringing in my ears which doesn’t help!

N on the other hand has lost another three pounds despite her holiday and is now way below her target. We are therefore comparing notes and trying to work out why neither of us are having the success we should be.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in change, diary, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What a difference a year makes: 6th June 2017

  1. scifihammy says:

    Sometimes I think no matter what you do, your body is going to do odd things.
    While it is discouraging not to lose the weight you want, I think it is more important to eat healthier than you were and keep the exercise up. Weight is just a number, after all! 🙂

    • I’m convinced my body has found its natural weight which is why it has stayed the same (give or take a pound) since the end of January. I’m just going to carry on as I have been, keep her foodsheet as promised and we’ll see what happens. I’m still losing inches if rings flying off my fingers are anything to go by!

  2. Slow and steady wins the race. Sometimes the body does take time to reset – or is worried you are going to withhold food, so it better store some up – it sure seems that way. Maybe stress, too
    Food list make people aware of what they eat if they are those who don;’t pay attention – I don’t think you are one of those. Healthy and feeling good is a good measure. Funny, I watch ring fit to let me know when I’d better pay more attention.

    • I agree with you. I remember my old GP saying the body finds its own ‘happy’ weight and stays there. My problem was with the decades of previous dieting, I screwed up my system and it stored everything I ate as it never knew when I was going to feed it next. Hence the gains with salads etc and I made myself ill.
      I think the ring fit is a good gauge, as it allows for swelling on hot days etc. I feel great in myself, definitely better for the weight loss, but I’m keeping the food sheet record to show willing and commitment. She says that if that doesn’t work then I ‘ll need to complete an SAS sheet where I record everything I eat as I eat it. Blimey, that’s what I’m doing now and I’m not cheating. (Why fool myself?) We shall see what happens over the next 7 days.

Leave a Reply

