Walk thoughts, June 1st

I haven’t done one of these for a while.

After another hot and muggy night where sleep was difficult and we had a joyful concert of birdsong at 3.30, Maggie and I were out at 7am and it was wonderful.

I wore a light vest with my joggers as it was far from cold or even chilly.
I’ve caught the sun in recent days so instead of strap lines, I have the t-shirt ‘U’ and panda eyes. I’m not a fan of the heat but if there is air flow, I prefer to be outside.
On the boat of course if we were out on the water we had the best of both worlds.
Maggie and I did the figure of eight, passing the Alien Tree with its new seating arrangement. The hedge alongside is a little more ragged now, but the dog roses will be out soon and it will be a blaze of colour.

The veg shop in the High Street closed a little while ago and they have relocated to premises in a small rank of shops on our walk. Open at 7, the produce being set out on display every day looks glorious, so if need be, I could take a couple of pounds with me and get a fruity breakfast en route.
There are a couple of bungalows up for sale too, and either would suit us perfectly. However, the price is double our budget, but it’s nice to dream.

Garden lawns are in various stages of growth, someone is having a new drive laid, and the cut through has recently been mowed so was awash with starlings and their young after ants, grubs or anything else they could find.

Maggie did her business and in clearing up I had ‘ski shoes’ of clotted grass. Even stamping my feet didn’t loosen all of it so I was grateful that we had brought our ‘shoes brush mat’ with us here so that I could scrape my feet to get the rest off before coming indoors. As a rule, we remove our shoes in the front lobby anyway, which is why I was so annoyed at the stain we made on the carpet. MSM intends to get it professionally cleaned and we will contribute to the cost.

It was a promising start to what looks like being another hot day, rumour has it the hottest in the year so far, so I will be concentrating on keeping Maggie and I cool.
Meal plans for today are bangers and mash with veg for Hubby and a prawn and apple salad for me. I bought plenty of fruit yesterday as nectarines are on special offer at 45p for 4 and they are really juicy just now. Bananas seem to be going through their ‘woolly’ stage so I didn’t buy those, but conference pears are still 39p each, I got my raspberries and blueberries to go on my breakfast cereal and I treated myself to some frozen mangoes as they are refreshing for a change (not to mention cold!).
Guess Summer is here then.

 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, My life, observations, Walk Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

