Tuesday Photo Challenge – Old

Another beautiful picture Frank:
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/43011194/posts/1477281188

The challenge:
In keeping with the spirit of the antiquities, I’m giving you the challenge to photograph something that talks to the theme of Old!

I suppose it depends on what you class as ‘Old’.
I feel old sometimes at 61, but my Mum has just turned 95 so I wonder how she feels.

But if you’re thinking of antiques, it used to be anything over 50 years of age, but those goalposts have been moved now to reflect items of 100 years or more.
Therefore ‘Grandad’ here is no longer considered an antique, but he is old, the same age as me in fact all bar a month or so as my original teddy was stolen off my pram.
    
The other bear in the picture is Rembrandt, purchased in Holland in 1993 so he has a fair few years to go to qualify.

However, the ‘Old’ for my post today is an item of clothing that will clock up 42 years of age in August.
It belonged to my Dad, and I wore it for years. Now practically shapeless and threadbare, it has been lovingly wrapped in tissue paper and vacuum packed. I cannot bear to part with it as I have so few things that belonged to my father.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, photoprompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday Photo Challenge – Old

  1. jansenphoto says:

    Wonderful post! I just love the smile on your mum’s face!! More power to her for being older and, likely, wiser than a number of us!!

    Thanks for sharing this post,

    Frank

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Photo Challenge – Round Up 59 – Dutch goes the Photo!

  3. judithreid says:

    Love your post as it includes so many things I hold dear myself !! Old bears (I have a few childhood bears mysefl), old jumpers belonging to my Dad and grandmother (to be worn indoors !!) and what a lovely photo of your Mum at 95 years young. She looks lovely. 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. I love my Mum dearly and write to her every week as we live several hours away. Talking to her on the phone confuses her as dementia is taking its hold and she’s not too sure who the voice on the other end belongs to.

Leave a Reply

