Foodie Post 29th May

I think I’ve had a good week, but whether that will be reflected tomorrow at weigh in I don’t know.
I’ve certainly had plenty of fruit and veg, added a little variety to my meals, and only over synned on one day. Keeping track of those little extras can be a bit of a pain but worth the effort, even if everyone thought I had ‘a problem’ as I kept disappearing upstairs. This was to complete my food diary, not to use the loo!I would recommend keeping one to anyone embarking on a weight reduction plan as it not only shows what you’re eating, but also highlights areas you may be lacking for a balanced diet. Everyone is different, and what diet foods work for one don’t necessarily work for another, but a written record, imo, works for everyone as you can see what gave you success and thus reduce any failures.
Tongue in cheek comment from recent personal experience:
referral back doesn’t always repeat the exact success but at least it doesn’t add to failure!

So what have I been eating this week?

L: Cauliflower cheese and speedy veg  (5 syns for cheese, milk from allowance)
R: chicken casserole, jersey royal potatoes in their skins and veg (no syns)


L: egg and ham salad (free, bar teaspoon lighter than light mayo, syns negligible)
R: prawn and apple salad (again free bar mayo)

Both: reverse breakfast of frozen black forest fruits with cereal, no milk, cereal B option.


L: jacket spud with cheese and speed veg (peppers, carrot, green beans), cheese A option
R: sweet and sour pork * with rice (4 syns for tinned pineapple and added sugar in sauce)
 

L: rhubarb berry crumble** (approx 6 syns for oats and granola topping plus 1 for added sugar to fruit) and quark.
R: gammon with jersey royal potatoes in their skins and speed veg.

Hope if nothing else this foodie post has given you some meal ideas.

Notes:
* sweet and sour sauce is made from scratch using a chicken stock cube, 1 teaspoon flour for thickening, vinegar, dark soy sauce, juice from tinned pineapples (fruit added later) and a tablespoon of sugar. Sometimes I add a little dried ginger too. Bear in mind this meal served two of us, so the syn quota is my portion only.

** crumble topping is equal quantities of porridge oats and granola cereal (I used one with dried berries). Crushed gingernut biscuits (2½ syns each and you’d use 2 -4 depending on the amount of fruit) instead of granola cereal gives the topping an extra zing.
Again the syn value is for my portion. You could count the porridge oats as your B option to reduce the syn content.

 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, food, health, Just a thought, Opinions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Foodie Post 29th May

  1. scifihammy says:

    It’s So hard to keep motivated and try to find new and tasty dishes. You’re doing a good job here.
    (I also had cauliflower and cheese sauce last week – a favourite of mine from when I was a kid and my Mum made it. )

  2. These dishes look yummy!
    I would love if you would refollow my new blog site, I had to shut my old one down.
    http://houseofheartweb.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

