Manchester Bombing

I’ve just read that 15 year old Olivia Campbell was one of the victims in yesterday’s bombing.
I heard her mother’s pleas for word of her on the news yesterday which reduced me to tears.

I fail to understand the lowlifes that commit these atrocities.
They don’t deserve my understanding even if I could give it.

This is my country.
It is being polluted by evil and the only ‘defence’ and ‘retribution’ available by our politicians are Words.

Words won’t bring Olivia or any of the others that died yesterday back to their families.
I am incapable of Hate, but I’m getting close.

RIP Olivia.
My thoughts are with those who lost their loved ones yesterday.

As for the family of the suicide bomber?
NO COMMENT.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in current events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Manchester Bombing

  1. nanny15 says:

    Sad, sad, sad, prayers for the families.
    Good on you.
    Your post should be flooded with likes, has everyone in Britain been cowed into silence?
    The truth must be told to fix the problem.

    • There was a lot of anger in this household yesterday. The media are reporting the solidarity of the nation and to respond with ‘Love’. The major of Greater Manchester said this morning ‘We will not be broken’. All the Love in the world won’t bring the victims back. It is time for action and examples to be made. But then who am I to say, let alone enforce it?

  2. This is so sad! I dont understand how a person can do such a thing! To attack a place full of kids and teenagers is just cowardly. I pray for everyone who was affected.. especially parents ..

  3. scifihammy says:

    It is senseless murder of innocent victims – it is not war.
    I feel for the victims and their bereaved families.

  4. Heart-breaking ❤

  5. colinandray says:

    I think that you are being a little unfair re the suicide bombers family. Whereas they could have been involved… perhaps they weren’t? If you are going to condemn them on the basis of the blood connection, then is that any different from a racial/religious bias based on the actions of a few?
    My son went through a time of substance abuse and some resulting minor criminal activity… but that did not make me either a drug dealer or a criminal. The trap that so many fall into is by behaving similar to the terrorist, in that we are expressing negative emotions on a scale that goes beyond the perpetrator.
    The power of politicians is so often simply words and, while that maybe a legitimate criticism, what would you suggest they do? Putting limitations on like cultures serves no purpose except to aggravate already tense situations, and is in total contradiction of all major religion’s teachings. Finally, I have no read no evidence in any history book, about any era, that proved aggression to be anything other than a temporary solution to anything. My feelings about politicians are probable similar to yours, but I also acknowledge that it is so easy to criticize, and offer nothing as an alternative.

    • Perhaps I am Colin, but if the media is correct and a brother was also involved it is very difficult to be compassionate. ‘Tarring with the same brush’ and ‘minority spoiling it for the majority ‘ spring to mind too. So many young people lost their lives. But why?
      I cannot hate, it just isn’t in me. I do not understand why someone would want to do this. I have no alternative suggestions either. I am just one of many angered by these events. However, reactions in anger don’t resolve things either.

      • colinandray says:

        The answer to your “Why” could well simply be an individual who was gullible enough and vulnerable enough, to believe that some divine good could come from it. Why target children? He probably didn’t… but perhaps simply targeted a crowd, and children just happened to be part of it. Why would God allow it? He didn’t. He gave us the freedom of choice, and with that choice comes the decision to do good or bad. Like you… I do not know what the answer is regarding stopping this insanity, but “lashing out” at friends, relatives, same nationals, and same spiritual beliefs is not it.

  6. There are no words.

  7. uapsnu says:

    On that dreadful day, Manchester city became Manchester united.

Leave a Reply

