Plan of attack last 7 days.

One of the key words in my ‘chat’ at group last week was planning.
I’ve mentioned in previous posts that normally when we plan anything it always goes belly up, however, with Slimming World, planning your meals is half the battle, and I have been doing just that more or less anyway since I started almost a year ago now.
I still keep my food diary, but admit that sometimes I forget some of the syns I’ve had and thus don’t record them.
This past week I have been referring to the SW diet planner A LOT and checking out the syn value of unfamiliar things before I eat them!
I already knew meringues and gingernut biscuits were 2½ syns each, and I have shown remarkable restraint in not opening the box of 16 Ferrero Rochet Hubby gave me for my birthday. At 3½ syns each, the entire box (which I could happy demolish on my own but would be equally happy to share with him) equates to almost 4 days of maximum syns.
The secreted box of chocolate finger biscuits for MSM’s return remained unopened until last night as Hubby got the munchies. Even at 1½ syns each, I passed as I had already had my syn quota for the day. I have deliberately kept biscuits unopened in the cupboard and not in the biscuit barrel, even if they are for him, not me.

I admit to a cornetto style ice cream on one of our hottest days which had 9½ syns  and purchased a box of 5 Alpen Light chocolate and fudge cereal bars which were on special offer at £1.
I was pleasantly surprised to find they only have 3 syns each, the same as SW’s Hi-Fi bars, so I am keeping them in reserve for the time being.
I also tried some Flatbread cheese and black pepper ‘thins’, a baked crisp type treat at 39p which had 10½ syns in the 50g packet. That may sound a lot, but the pack stated there were at least 16 thins inside, yet having a gentle prod around so as not to break any, I reckoned there were few more than that. Hubby found them and there were in fact 21 in the bag, so half a syn each and I felt OK to have half a dozen (ie. 3 syns worth).

Jacobs Cracker Crisps which are absolutely delicious are high in syns and the pack I bought was 150g. As a 25g bag has 6 syns, I only had a couple, and Hubby had the rest over two days! I left them in the kitchen out of my line of sight and sense of smell which certainly helped my will power!

I’ve made a point of having three definite meals a day: breakfast (usually cereal and fruit), lunch (salad snack) and main meal (cooked), the latter two being interchangeable depending on what we’re doing and where we are, snacking on fruit in between if I’m peckish. I’ve eaten so much speed food this week, I’m surprised I’ve not been arrested!

I have been taking photos too as I find they help remind me what, and how much, I’ve had.
 

Photos: a typical breakfast of cereal and fruit plus my morning cuppa, or poached eggs on toast for a change
(latter previously used photo)

I’ve selected a small cereal bowl for breakfast and one of the small oval plates here for my other meals in an attempt to get control over my portion size again.
Lots of salads this week as my light meal which I’ve tried to jazz up a bit with extra veg medleys, and jacket spuds, chilli and chicken have also found their way on to my plate.
 


 

Photos:
Top left:  pork chilli and rice (no syns) . right: ham salad (mayo syn only)
Centre left: cauliflower cheese (5 syns cheese, milk from allowance). right:mushroom jacket (no syns)
Bottom left: black forest meringue (2½ syns). right: ham jacket and speed veg (no syns)

I am rather partial to mayonnaise and one tablespoon of a low fat variety equated to one syn. I have since found a ‘Lighter than Light’ mayo which has only half a syn per tablespoon, and as I am only having a teaspoon, my salads are practically syn free! Hurrah!!

Photos:
Top left: chicken breast and speedy veg (syn free). Top right: fruit salad and meringue dessert with quark and ½ crushed ginger nut biscuit (syns 4 + 6 for dried apricots @ one syn each)
Bottom left: 2 egg mushroom omelette and salad, no mayo (no syns).
Bottom right: jacket potato with salad, mushrooms, peppers and carrots (no syns). (Liquid is syn free stock from veg not butter in case you were wondering!)

 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in food, health, Just a thought, Opinions, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

