Advertisement Prompt #2

As a young child, I was always in awe of babies, so when my nephews came along in the late 60s, I took an avid interest and was first in line with offers to babysit.
I suppose being older when my first nieces were born, the fascination had dwindled somewhat, and not having any kids of my own, more or less faded altogether.

The current Pampers nappy advert has me almost in tears as I watch tiny scraps of life in the hands of nursing professionals, giants of fathers, and loving arms of new Mums and grannies.
They are all prem babies, and the accompanying song is ‘I’m Coming Home’ sung by Chanele McGuinness and arranged by Luis Almau (source).

A banking colleague had premature twins, so small that even dolls clothes were too big and egg cosies were used as bonnets. Both survived and are now well into their twenties.
My great niece was also a prem baby, and is a mother herself now providing our family with its fifth living generation.
This ad took me back to that anxious time for the parents concerned, as it shows nappies not much bigger than a bandaid, and preparations for the newborns to come home.
Never fails to bring a lump to my throat at the wonder of it all.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in film/tv/book, Just a thought, miscellaneous, Personal Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Advertisement Prompt #2

  1. colinandray says:

    The first time that I saw my granddaughter (at 3lbs), I was amazed at not only her diminutive size, but at the amount of tubing and wires going in and out of her… and at how tiny all those tubes and wires were! 🙂

Leave a Reply

