A Different Day

Hubby and I were asked to help out at a local drop in centre whilst some friends were away. Run strictly by volunteers, it was a simple case of being there to take details of names and addresses or answer the phone as one of the regular staff would be on their own.

Hubby used his time to do some computer update work for them yesterday, and today it was my turn.
I took in my card making box as the lady on duty is a Crafter and expressed interest in my efforts to compare notes.
I was actually making cards yesterday  (picture below) before I knew this, so I was looking forward to it as my ideas have become stale, and it was nice to have some tuition and inspiration to enhance my meagre skill.

The kits available to buy these days seem to be back to front insomuch as the pretty picture suggests the card should be made with the fold on the right rather than the left. I may well be missing something as it seems a pity to have to cut a card up for being the wrong way round!

We discussed various methods of card making, embossing kits, different papers, ‘sanding’ to rough up coloured card to texture it and bring out some of the white underneath (will be trying that next time), but I was fascinated by one card she had made following a programme on the craft channel. It was on an oriental theme with black silhouette outline transfers which you can buy on a sheet.
She said it came in a kit for about £20, but like me she is on a strict budget, so she watched the video very closely and made notes. The result was fabulous, so I couldn’t wait to come home and make a prototype.

I used ordinary paper so the end result was a bit floppy, and a lot of odds and sods that wouldn’t necessarily go with anything else. It’s a bit hit and miss as I used a crappy pair of scissors rather than a scalpel, and I had no measuring tools to hand or cutting board.
Like my new friend, I utilised stiff plastic packaging for my stand ups, and as I progressed with my experiment, I learned some valuable tips, like sizing, trimming to shape before sticking, colour co-ordination and folding in the right direction so that the end result would fit in a standard A5 envelope.

Flat to post.


Open and upright.
Close up.

The next one I make will be tidier, more rigid as I shall use proper card, and my butterflies will be at different heights when standing upright.
It was fun to do though, and I have a selection of 3D butterflies (I used two on this design on the turn down flaps) should I do another on this theme.

What do you think?

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in card making, diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Different Day

Leave a Reply

