Hubby’s New Toy

Neither of us are fans of technology, but there are times when we have no choice but to be dragged kicking and screaming (silently) into the modern era.
It was years before we succumbed to having a mobile phone, and that was only because FIL was updating his and gave us his old one.
Shortly thereafter, we got another and a few years after that upgraded (about 15 years ago) to the one I have now, though Hubby’s has been replaced no less than five times now as it either didn’t wash well in the machine, float or he couldn’t work it out. It’s a standing joke that it took me two years to discover it received and sent text messages which explained the occasional beeping sometimes.
The new gizmo on the dash joining his dashcam is a GPS. It made sense as with the forthcoming house hunting, we will be needing directions which most estate agents seem to omit from their property details but kindly give you the postcode in their assumption that everyone has GPS on board as standard. Our current GPS is usually me with a map.

We had one before, and if we hadn’t, would never have found the farm to collect Maggie. However, it took flying lessons out of the car window when it drove us round in circles once too often when trying to drive by potential properties before arranging to view in 2005.
He bought one yesterday and we followed the instructions to charge it for at least 5 hours prior to use.
It didn’t work, so we took it back this morning and got a slightly smaller one and a refund for the difference.
Opening the box in the car park, we plugged it in and everything sprung to life as it updated to the car’s computer software for time and location (we knew about the time but not the location beacon apparently).
We decided to test it to get us home, and programmed in the postcode.

Wow.
Efficient or what, and a very acceptable voice told us to turn right and take the third exit off the roundabout.
We deliberately went in the wrong direction, and were told to make a U-turn in the next few yards (which we ignored) and the next junction, and the next.
We went into a craft shop as I wanted to get some card making materials and then set off in the correct direction.

I suddenly started laughing, and Hubby was a little bemused.
The voice was saying to go to the roundabout and take the second exit. It then repeated the instruction twice (we were at red traffic lights), and in true comedy sketch fashion I said in a passable GPS voice
‘What’s the matter with you? You deaf or something? Don’t you listen? I said, Go to the roundabout and take the second exit dammit!!’

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, humour, miscellaneous, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hubby’s New Toy

  1. joyroses13 says:

    We hope that the GPS device saved our marriage. 🙂 That may be an exaggeration but hubby and I are quite different when it comes to directions. I am directionally challenged! He can go to a place once and remember for years how to get there.
    He used to want me to read the map to him when driving to new places. Maps do me no good and me reading the map always ended in a not so happy hubby having.to pull over to read the map and realize that I got him way off track!
    I bought a GPS and now we have blissful car rides. 🙂 Except when the GPS “yells” at us.

  2. joyroses13 says:

    Ugh! Didn’t mean “hope” ,supposed to be “joke”

  3. scifihammy says:

    I don’t have one either, but most people do these days. I think they are useful, but like all technology, you still need to know where you are going . . . as the quickest route to your destination May be 10 m That way – which happens to take you over a cliff! 😀

  4. colinandray says:

    We always laugh at the GPS street pronunciations. Our Lakeshore Road comes out as Lakkashore Road. There are a few where we just smile and shake our heads! 🙂

  5. I’m glad I’m not the only one who talks at her GPS/phone!

    • When I worked for the vending machine company, I would talk to the two coin sorting machines I used every morning before I started. My boss found it hysterical, but if I didn’t, I had problems from the moment I switched on! Even machines like to feel appreciated I suppose!!

Leave a Reply

