Advertisement Prompt

First and foremost, I am NOT knocking charity, but following a train of thought that could provide more money for a worthy cause.
Anyone following my blog will know I am a doggie person. I love dogs, no matter what breed, size or shape, and when I worked for the bank, my chosen charity ‘Hearing Dogs for the Deaf’ was pulled out of the hat for the support of our monthly Dress Down Day.
I baked, and raised over £70 which, with the ‘fee’ for dressing down, was matched by the company and the charity received a substantial cheque.

Dogs, or any pet for that matter, are great company, a terrific ice breaker, and loyal companion, working or not, and I have become chatty with a local gentleman who housetrains puppies which will hopefully go on for Guide Dog training.

There is an advert currently running on TV for Guide Dogs.
I remember as a kid collecting the foil milk bottle tops for the cause, but these days charity contributions and support are preferred by regular direct debits rather than a bucket on the High Street.
They are asking for just one pound a week to sponsor a pup to be a guide dog.
For that, you will receive photographs and updates, plus a cuddly toy.
And that is when I get angry.
Cuddly toys are around a fiver a time.
That’s another five puppies for training.
The charity can send photographs and printed updates by all means, but save money by kicking the cuddlies into touch and instead spend it on the real thing, the chance to enhance or even change the life of someone who has lost their sight.

As an aside, it is not just Guide Dogs, but all Assistance Dogs (Service Dogs to our American friends) that would benefit from sponsorship or donations.
I have no connections whatsoever to any charities, but do have a love of animals and know how much they can mean to a person and improve their quality of life.
Just a thought.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Just a thought, Opinions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Advertisement Prompt

  1. You’re so right. Emailed updates cost little and let people feel connected – and like something real is being accomplished.
    But times like stuffed animals, lap blankets (Shriners hospitals), and all that pink stuff (breast cancer supporters) is irritating – money better spent on actual need rather than shipping and cost of the item. Has it gotten so bad that people won’t donate unless they get a “trophy” item to show off like a little kid to show others how good they are? Ancient relatives used to always say,” if you do a good deed and tell about it, you are doing it for yourself, not to benefit others.”

    • Good morning, and thanks for commenting. So agree with the ancient relatives wisdom. It’s sad when people expect visible goody points before being ‘caring’.

  2. colinandray says:

    Hi Di – There is another side to your scenario.

    I have a “problem” with Hospitals spending obscene amounts of money on huge homes, exotic cars, and vacations (all to be lottery prizes), together with huge TV advertising costs… all in the name of cancer research. My initial thought was, like yours! Why don’t they simply invest all that money directly into cancer research! The answer is a combination of basic math and a sad state of our species. Those “giveaways” in the name off fundraising do work.

    I had to ask myself which of 2 organizations should I support. One that spends $1M and raises $10M, or one that spends $1,000.00 and raises $10,000.00. My personal choice leans towards those that have the lower administrative costs however, it is proven that spending the big money on prizes will more than be covered by the additional interest and resulting donations.

    On a similar note, I once asked a lottery organization why they don’t change the single multi-million dollar prize, to far more lower value prizes (i.e. numerous $1/2M prizes). The odds of winning would be vastly increased and therefore attract more interest. The response was that while that would seem logical, the reality is quite the opposite. People will ignore the odds, and buy into a potential multi-million dollar win, but will show minimal interest in smaller values!

    What is wrong with our species???

    • Valid points Colin! And what indeed is wrong with us? I had dealings with one large charity through my job and was gobsmacked at how much went in admin costs and less than a quarter went to the charity!

  3. I regularly refuse the gifts offered when giving a dollar or two to someone asking for money for various causes while out and about (it seems the tradition of giving money like this is alive and well here in the U.S.). I figure that just means another couple dollars the charity can earn from re-offerng what I refused and still gave money for.

    I do know that a lot of places here will allow you to opt out of receiving the gifts offered for regular or larger donations. It seems to me a good practice, as like you said, that’s plenty of money that can go back to the cause.

  4. Lorraine says:

    I have written to a number of charities saying that the money they spend to send me appeals, including the “gift” would be better spent on the charity itself. I know they exist; I have supported in the past, when I can/want to support them again I will. Amazing at the number who pay no attention and continue to bombard me with paper appeals — the cost of which is more than a stamp! And, then, I get pleas obviously from “sold” lists! The number of folks I give my limited charity resources to is dwindling due to the reasons you point out. I won’t get into the service animal scam going on in the US. That makes me even madder.

Leave a Reply

