A Hubby’s View

Hubby met me from my SW group last night and as he waited in the foyer area, he listened in.
When it had finished, I came out and told him about my gain, though I wasn’t too worried as it had been expected and I was determined to turn it around.

In the car coming home, I got the idea he was angry.
Not at me for my weight gain, as I know he loves me whatever weight, size or shape I am, but he was definitely brooding over something and it wasn’t until today that he’d got it straight in his head to tell me.

He had listened in for the last five or ten minutes of group, and what had come across was more the ‘be all and end all’ to weight loss than constructive support. There was no allowance in the professional-speak for reasons other than overeating that could account for weight gain, even though offers of ‘help and advice’ were made.
He was angry that, having witnessed the number of locks I’d done, how hard I’d worked and how much constant and strenuous exercise I’d achieved over our 8 day trip, nothing was said about muscle tone or body shape.

I refer back to the ton of feathers and coal issue again, and the revised misconception that muscle weighs heavier than fat. Pound for pound they are the same, but it is the density that differs so much. This is why I’m not too worried about my gain.
OK, our eating habits were not ‘to plan’, but anything bad (ie. most of our away diet probably) was burnt off with the exercise and constant walking I did. I walked miles, it is something I enjoy anyway, and was practical as some locks were really close together.
However, my body shape changed in those 8 days, with those flabby fatty bits toning up and tightening.

Last night, I got the SW intro pack out and read the literature cover to cover. It says to measure yourself when you start as there will be times when weight loss does not occur yet inches are still lost. Although I didn’t do it, I know I have lost a lot of inches and appreciate it is not all down to poundage.

I have never in my life had skinny legs, and although they aren’t exactly skeletal, they are pretty damn good for a 60 year old!
The dog lead shimmie is now the dog lead slip as I have to make no effort at all for the lead to fall past my hips now.
I am two sizes smaller in my bra size having lost 4 inches off my bust before Humphrey, and as for joggers? A year ago I was finding mens extra large a little tight. Now even a medium is baggy on me.

Dieting in whatever form is big business, but perhaps sometimes it should be mentioned that food is not the only reason for weight differences.
However, maybe that would be seen as making excuses rather than giving motivation.
Just a thought.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, Just a thought, Opinions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Hubby’s View

  1. Ritu says:

    All.valid points!!!

    • He’s right though. One of the things I hated about The Opposition was the guilt I felt for not losing anything or practically nothing. It was soul detroying so no wonder I quit going. This is different as it’s working for me, but the speech content always concentrates on loss and after a while the ‘it’s OK to gain but what are you going to do about it for next week’ does run a little tired, if not patronising I suppose. Motivation and support, encouragement, tips and advice, but as you know, it’s not all about food and the idea of exercise is to tone up. One thing I won’t do is say how much I intend to lose over the next week. It never works for me and I know my body too well to even anticipate its behaviour, calorie/syn counting or not! I won’t give up until that three stone certificate is in my sticky little mitt!

  2. You look fabulous!

  3. Shivangi says:

    You look great😀👍

Leave a Reply

