Did you give up anything for Lent?

With it being Easter Sunday tomorrow, Lent will officially be over.
There has been a fair bit in the media about the word Easter being dropped from Easter Eggs, Easter Biscuits and Easter holidays because some found it offensive.
Already we have to be careful at Christmas, and in our schools assembly, hymns and prayers as I knew them have more or less been cancelled altogether for this multi cultural country of mine.
To be honest, I’m growing sick and tired of PC and the minority being pandered to, stripping us of our traditions, beliefs and culture.

Anyway, Hubby and I did not have pancakes on Shrove Tuesday, so I guess in a way we shouldn’t have been expected to give up anything for Lent.
One of the girls at SW on Tuesday played The Lent card when out with her family for a meal so as not to offend anyone when they tried to ply her with calorie and fat laden foods.
I also remember one of the members of the Ladies Group I belonged to in Lincolnshire saying she was giving up Sex for Lent.
I spluttered into my coffee at that one as she was 80 if she was a day, and a spinster!

I can’t remember ever giving up anything for Lent, or giving up anything for anything actually. These days we try to spend very little anyway, and whilst perhaps not exactly giving anything up, buying less of it or restricting our intake to keep in line with healthier eating habits.

Tomorrow I will be cooking a chicken dinner for the three of us, with extra veg for me.
My Easter Egg is still looking at me (unopened) from the box on the sideboard. Hubby has already had his Easter Bunny and we gave a small Lindt Bunny to Tom who was up for the weekend. He’s such a sweetheart but has gone off doughnuts and Aldi’s Christmas Puddings aren’t available just now.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, miscellaneous, Opinions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Did you give up anything for Lent?

  1. Ritu says:

    I don’t know why the government sees fit to remove religious connotations from these festivals and holidays.
    We are in a predominantly Christian (just about!) country, and even though the religions here are diverse, that is this country’s first religion. You don’t see other countries not referring to Eid, or Vaisakhi, or Diwali, for fear of offending… because that is the beauty of that country!!!
    I enjoy celebrating all special times, as it is fun, brings communities together and educates children too!
    Sorry, off my soapbox now!

  2. ellenbest24 says:

    I leant something for Lent and I would give up chocolate as it gives me migrane but it wouldn’t be quite the same as giving up a something that I truly wanted to have. The husband may worry if like your lady in your post… I gave up sex. So no I didn’t comply with tradition in fact I may have a pancake and sex for supper… *whispers* I may be going to hell, but I will be happy 😉

  3. Heartafire says:

    Though I have to disagree regarding religion and schools as I am a strong defender of our constitution and separation of church and state, I wish you a lovely and peaceful Easter.

    • Thank you. You too.
      Times have changed since my school days, and I see no problem in being taught about different cultures and religions. However, I feel things have gone too far, and our own traditions, including Belief, are being moved aside. This is a bit hypocritical of me actually as I am not a religious person as such. I believe there is a Power greater than all of us and when my time comes to pass over to the next chapter, hopefully I shall be reunited with my loved ones.

  4. I gave up my ‘rights’ on social media and to prove a point about democracy. Happy Halal certified Easter.

  5. scifihammy says:

    I’m all for live and let live, but I don’t see why eg a Christian school cannot practice its beliefs just because some non-Christians go there; surely they can skip assemblies, as one girl did way back when I went to school. (Now I can’t remember her religion! Mormon? Jehovah’s Witness?)
    Happy Easter and great restraint on not eating your choc egg yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

