Ups and Downs

I realise my posts of late have been a disjointed garbled mish-mash, there has been no pattern, no plan, no theme, just writings as and when on a variety of subjects that bear no connection to each other for most of the time.

Like my music, my writing has reflected my mood, and after re-reading some of the poetry entries I’ve posted, I can confirm I am definitely one rather confused, angry and uptight individual!
At least I have had the luxury of an outlet for my frustrations and concerns, something I didn’t have so many years ago when I kept everything inside, blaming myself, and losing not only the plot, but my sense of worth as I sank deeper and deeper into depression.
In 1988 I found myself sitting at my electronic keyboard at 4am (with my headphones on) playing hymns, and I felt something, a sense I was not alone in my fight, which is why my final choice for the Song Challenge was You’ll Never Walk Alone.

I am lucky in that I can now recognise the signs, have a partner I can turn to, and thus head them off and deal with them before they become a major issue.Β  Although there is no order to current concerns, they all banded together in one almighty onslaught to such an extent that neither of us knew what to do, or how and when to do it.

Light is now at the end of our Tunnel of Dismay, and although the forthcoming outcome is not what we wanted, we see it as a closing chapter in our life and the opening of another.
We are going to enjoy our ‘holiday’ on the canals next week, and I am actually looking forward to travelling the Grand Union and tackling the lock flights as it is something we haven’t done and will be able to say we did.
We can begin to get back into a routine, albeit different from life aboard, and integrate our newfound skills in frugality into land living.
When we decided to buy the boat in 2014, we looked at it as a solution to buy us time in a crazy world we couldn’t keep up with.
It has been an interesting time and one I won’t forget or regret.

 

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, home, My life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ups and Downs

  1. Ritu says:

    I think it is important to have an outlet… and we can read… listen… and help sometimes xxx

  2. nanny15 says:

    The days of our life, are connections enough. Writing of their events encourages fellow journeyers along their path in a myriad of different ways. Being real, is the essence of blogging, reaching out and receiving support from the community. Have fun and get excited to see what’s next. πŸ™‚

  3. stevetanham says:

    Peaceful sailing ⛡️

  4. scifihammy says:

    I’m glad to hear there is light at the end of the tunnel. You have had a great deal to cope with over the last year and I admire your spirit in facing your problems and finding solutions. I shall be sad not to read about life on the marina any more, but I’m sure your new life will be full of interest. Enjoy your voyage along the canals and Good Luck with your move. πŸ™‚

  5. Are posts supposed to be logical and connected? Opps! I missed that memo for sure! Looking forward to your new adventure. You both are survivors and will make it work.

    • I like variety but things haven’t exactly been ‘flowing’ lately! We’re looking forward to our travels on the canals too. I have a nice big chip for my camera and plenty of spare batteries so I shall be snapping away regardless of any bad weather!

Leave a Reply

