Song Challenge (Music That Means Something)

I’ve been nominated for this challenge by Willow, but with recent internet problems I am having to modify it a bit by posting the lyrics rather than a video.

The rules are:
Post a song a day for five consecutive days.
Post what the lyrics mean to you.  (Optional)
Post the name of the song and video.
Nominate 1 or 2 bloggers each day of the challenge.

I openly nominate anyone who wishes to participate rather than individuals.

For Day 1, I am opting for Memory from the musical Cats.
Not a particular fan of Elaine Paige, the actual melody has a special place in my own memory as it is the only piece I learned to play without a piano.
I had recently moved to the Bath area and access to a piano was impossible.
I recall sitting at the bar in a pub imagining it to be a keyboard and going through the notes in my head envisaging them before me at my fingertips. It must have looked very strange!
I play mostly in the key of F# (the black notes), so when I eventually managed to sit at a real keyboard, I played it note perfect (almost) in this key having never played it before at all.
I never mastered that final powerful key change at the end though.

Midnight not a sound from the pavement
Has the moon lost her memory?
She is smiling alone
In the lamplight, the withered leaves collect at my feet
And the wind begins to moan

Memory, All alone in the moonlight
I can smile at the old days
I was beautiful then
I remember the time I knew what happiness was
Let the memory live again

Every streetlamp seems to beat
A fatalistic warning
Someone mutters and the street lamp gutters
And soon
It will be morning

Daylight
I must wait for the sunrise
I must think of a new life
And I mustn’t give in.
When the dawn comes
Tonight will be a memory too
And a new day will begin

Burnt out ends of smoky days
The stale cold smell of morning
A streetlamp dies; another night is over
Another day is dawning…

Touch me!
It’s so easy to leave me
All alone with the memory
Of my days in the sun…
If you touch me, you’ll understand what happiness is
Look, a new day has begun.

Songwriters
ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER, T. S. ELIOT, TREVOR NUNN, ZDENEK HRUBY

Published by
Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group, IMAGEM MUSIC INC

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

