Tale Weaver No 114 – April 6 – Taste

Pick up your senses for this week’s Tale Weaver!
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2017/04/06/tale-weaver-no-114-april-6-taste/

It’s strange isn’t it how some people like the taste and flavour of one thing whilst someone else hates it.
Marmite is a classic example, you either love it or hate it, and Hubby and I are one of each.
I cannot abide the smell, let alone the taste, though I confess I did use it once in gravy as I’d run out of gravy powder and nobody noticed, though I didn’t touch it.
I have a pretty good sense of taste, but there is one thing that has eluded me since 1970.
That is the taste of a particular green fruit pastille.
I remember the year as I was on holiday with my grandfather for 2 weeks pending a cousin’s forthcoming wedding, Elvis was Number One in the charts with The Wonder of You, and the shop half way down the hill sold fruit pastilles at one and thruppence a quarter. I walked there every day for my sweets, asking for as many green ones as the shop keeper would allow.
I could not tell you what the flavour was, and for years afterwards I was cheeky enough to ask to ‘test’ a green sweet before purchasing a bag.
It was not lime or lemon and lime. It may have been greengage, or lychee, but I have never found it since.

Generally speaking though, my tastes have changed as I’ve got older, and I go through periods of ‘sweet’ or ‘savoury’ now.
However, in the confectionery line things are definitely not how they used to be. Bars are smaller, nuts are fewer, and the texture of some chocolate has deteriorated. Jelly babies are either too sweet or tasteless as are liquorice allsorts, and marshmallows are just pink or white lumps.
I still like my cheddar, but occasionally treat myself to a soft cheese with fruit such as cranberries, apricots or pineapple. Very nice with crackers!
Just thinking about it now makes my mouth water, but it’s nearly bedtime, and most people know that eating cheese before you retire can result in nightmares!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tale Weaver No 114 – April 6 – Taste

  1. Michael says:

    Hello Di, I did smile as I read through this piece, in Australia, we can buy Marmite but we prefer our Vegemite as most of us have grown up on the stuff…
    I have to agree with you about the quality of lollies, you are right they are not anything like the ones we used to get when kids, certainly smaller, less flavour and all I am sure under the guise of eating less sugar and less salt….
    Great contribution to the tale weaver, thanks for sharing your tasty thoughts.

Leave a Reply

