I was a materialistic hoarder

Ouch.
This doesn’t sound like me at all these days, but with the recent packing up and putting things into storage took me back several years and how things and possessions were so much more important to me!

When I first married, a lot of my friends had lovely homes and modern furniture.
My own was a new house, but furniture was second-hand and curtains etc home-made, but we couldn’t afford a lot so it took a bit of time to get our home together.
It wasn’t that I envied my friends,  but naturally I liked nice things though I wasn’t prepared to get into debt to have them. First husband had control of the purse strings anyway, so anything purchased was always run through him first.
When the marriage failed, I took very little with me really, just my bed and personal jewellery and clothes. I was paying off the loan for the car so drove that away, and also got custody of the dog.
Moving away was a good thing, but 8 years later when that relationship failed too, there were a lot of things I left behind that I should have taken with me.

It’s funny, but I still dream about those times and going back to collect my property, something I never actually did and to some extent regretted. In my dreams, the house is more or less the same until I go inside, Ex partner is still swigging his lager, the kids are still young, and I always come away empty handed.

When we left the cottage in 2014, Hubby and I got rid of practically everything, and what we had left fitted inside a 20 foot shipping container, including my Peugeot 206.
Here we are in 2017, and our possessions struggle to fill 128 cubic feet.

Such a contrast to all the ‘must haves’ and ‘I wants’ of yesteryear.
It is indeed all very nice to have nice things, to be able to afford to treat yourself to luxuries such as books, CDs, or DVDs, have wardrobes full of clothes you hardly wear, and ornaments you never dust.
If nothing else, living on the boat has taught us just how much we don’t need to live a good and happy life. Material things are just ‘things’ which can be replaced, though there are some that are irreplaceable, such are the memories attached.

I am looking forward to another home with more space than 41 feet by 6 feet 10 inches, but will not be cramming it with ‘stuff’, instead going the other way for a minimalistic lifestyle. Already, Hubby has plans to convert what we can to ‘boat living’ which has been comfortable and economical for us. Naturally it will involve more DIY, but we have become adept at improvising and inventive with custom-made items for whatever task at hand.
It’s another chapter in our book of life, but we haven’t quite finished this one yet.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in budgets, change, diary, Frugality, home, Just a thought, lifestyle, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I was a materialistic hoarder

  1. amommasview says:

    I think that getting rid of things is a a steady companion on my journey as we move on a regular basis. Not country anymore but house and it makes you realize how much you accumulate over a short amount of time. We are keeping it in check but it still blows my mind every time a new move comes along… And I wonder how it would be if we would finally live in our own house and not move anymore…

Leave a Reply

