Tale Weaver/Fairy Tale #113: the quest 30.03.17

Oh yes, Lorraine! Beautiful picture to work with.
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/19271780/posts/1397836922

High up in the snowy mountains hidden by the clouds stood a magical fortress.
Some said you could hear singing when the rains came, each note a tear falling to the earth below.
Surrounded by whispering trees alive with inner light, it was no place for darkness or sorrow. Yet it stood alone and unguarded, as if waiting for the right moment to grant access and saviour to the fair maiden who sang to the clouds and the mountains.

‘Aw, come on Dad. This isn’t your kind of story at all! Where are all the dragons, witches and demons? The beheadings and bloody gore you usually tell me at bedtime?’
‘Sorry Annie,’ he sighed. ‘ Your Mum told me all that kind of stuff wasn’t for girls and you’d prefer a fairy story. And don’t swear!’
‘What? No chance! When I grow up, I want to be a dragon slayer and go on a quest to save the heroine from the witch’s evil curse.’
‘Annie, sweetheart. Usually it’s a handsome prince who does all that and saves the princess, not a young girl like you, however brave and daring.’
‘I don’t care! This is the time of equality, and women can do just as much as men! I’m going to be the first female dragon slayer! And maybe the Princess has a handsome brother, or better still, it’s a handsome Prince enslaved in the tower! Oh Dad, how exciting that would be! Please think up some more for me tomorrow!’
Snuggling down under the covers, Annie grinned as Chris kissed her goodnight.
‘Don’t ever change Annie.’Β  he said. ‘Night love. Sleep well.’

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tale Weaver/Fairy Tale #113: the quest 30.03.17

  1. Lorraine says:

    Fantastic story. Have you ever heard/read of the Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munch? Written in the 1980s, it remains one of my favourite tales — Annie would love it! She would probably like the cartoon “Jane and the Dragon” too — tho Jane and the Dragon are friends.
    I really like how you used the image as the opening, and the dialogue between Father and child is perfect.
    This is an excellent questing story. Yeah Annie!

    • Thanks Lorraine. I’m not familiar with Paper Bag Princess at all I’m afraid, and the foster kids I had weren’t into bedtime stories. My Dad bought me a book called Where the Rainbow Ends and I read it in one night, it was that good. Sadly it got mislaid in the 70s when I married and is now out of print or a collector’s item.

      • Lorraine says:

        The Paper Bag Princess is a short story about a Princess who ends up rescuing the Prince dressed in a paper bag because the dragon has burnt her clothes. The Prince is a snob, of course, and the Princess decides she doesn’t want to marry him at all. That’s the quick description. It’s a small book with wonderful illustrations. Unfortunately, I no longer have my copy. I’m not familiar with Where the Rainbow ends.

      • WTRE was a classic from my dad’s childhood

  2. Lorraine says:

    I forgot to thank you for participating and playing the questing game!

Leave a Reply

