A good trip, but a long day.

We set off just before 6am today, with me driving the first leg on the motorways.
I have never seen so many HGVs in such close proximity, and several didn’t seem to see the little blue I10 trundling by and tried to overtake the vehicle in front of them. Luckily I was able to go into the outside lane to avoid mishap, but sometimes these big lorries seem to think they own the road and it’s up to us little ‘uns to get out of their way.

We actually made good time, getting to our changeover spot after an hour, so had some breakfast and gave Maggie a potty break.
We got to my sister’s just after 9.30 so were well pleased and had two cups of tea in quick succession!

Mum wasn’t up yet, so after our tea, catching up on the news and conversing with the new gentleman friend (who seems very nice), I went upstairs to see how Mum was progressing.
She was dressed, and proud that she’d cleaned her teeth, just having to brush her hair.
I left her to it, and she came downstairs about forty minutes later.
Sis has been finding things increasingly difficult, and Mum has taken to getting up in the middle of the night confused and not wanting to go back to bed. The following day may see her refusing to get up at all, so Sis has had to ask for a professional assessment and help.
This is not the outcome anyone wanted, but safety and care must come first, and we are all totally supportive.

My sister-in-law arrived around 11.30 laden down with shopping for lunch, and we stuffed ourselves silly with crusty bread, fancy cheeses, pate, and homemade cake, plus the caramel squares and mini flapjacks we’d taken in. The diet was sent packing for the day.
Mum smiled and ate well, settling down with crossword, but gradually lost interest in what she was doing. We talked about lots of things, including my op, which Mum said I’d kept a secret from her. I explained that I had told her in a letter, keeping her informed of my general health thereafter, and she seemed to remember something about it.
No-one has mentioned the C word and I kept everything light and cheerful as I still don’t want her to worry or dwell on it. I’m fit and cured, so there’s no need to anyway now.
We left around 2.30, getting home just before 6 so again made good time, despite a couple of holdups on the motorway.
Maggie has been a bit of a pain in worrying to go out and then not doing anything whilst we were there, and then we had to stop a couple of times for her to sniff the flowers and still not perform, GGrrrr!
I’ve managed to get her to eat and drink something, so at least we won’t have the churning tummy all night, and hopefully she will be so dog tired, she will sleep through the night and so will we.
We’re all shattered, but at least we have nothing on tomorrow and if necessary, can have a bit of a lie in. I just hope I don’t have another volcanic eruption flush like I had last night!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Family, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A good trip, but a long day.

  1. Those visits may be hard, but you won’t regret them. Hugs and rest up when you can

  2. It’s the kind of day where a diet really should go by the wayside.

Leave a Reply

