Dessert Course: weigh in week twelve

It’s been a funny week when the Slimming World eating plan hasn’t exactly been foremost in my mind.
Sure I’ve been trying to eat loads of veg and fruit, had my counted cereal for breakfast and synned my treats (well I think most of them), so overall I was not looking forward to weigh in but wanted to finish my ‘dessert’ somewhere below thirteen stone.

Since our two sets of financial bad news (Friday and Monday) our appetites have withered and we have just gone through the motions of meals.
Yesterday, following receipt of That Letter, we took ourselves out to the open spaces of The Malverns to think, discuss, and plan.

View from Jubilee Hill Feb 2016

I did not feel like coming back to the boat and searching for something to cook, so I suggested we had a carvery meal out.
As always, we asked if we could have a selection of the meats (pork, beef and turkey) and the person before us had the last of the turkey. The chef was scraping off the flakes and trimmings so I asked what she was going to do with them. She asked if I wanted them on my plate and I said no, but would appreciate a doggie bag.
‘No problem,’ she said, ‘I’ll bring it over.’
Veg on offer yesterday were roast potatoes, green beans, carrots, cauliflower, peas, mushy peas, mashed potatoes, chips plus stuffing balls and yorkshire pudding. I piled my plate with veg and got stuck in. It was delicious.
The doggie bag measured a good foot by four inches, and contained enough meat to make a sweet and sour! There was no way Maggie would have it all (her digestion would simply not be able to cope), but she went nuts when we got back in the car as she sensed that there were some goodies for her. I gave a her a little there and then.
Back at the boat, I offered half of it to a member of staff who has two dogs (not the boss, I don’t trust myself to talk to him yet). I put the rest in a bowl and covered it, though I confess I was picking as the meat was spotless.

Today after breakfast, we became pro-active and armed with a list, started exploring options, possibilities and alternatives.
It was a good morning, and although 2 options were ‘closed’ immediately, at least we had looked into them and knew we would be wasting valuable time to pursue further.
Unlike some of the liveaboards here, our mooring fees are paid up until the end of September, so at least we have six months ‘grace’ to sort something out.
Everyone we have spoken to is up in arms about the increase, some are seeking legal advice, others are making plans to move at the end of the month, and we are having an informal chat with Citizen’s Advice and a Housing representative tomorrow.

Hubby has spent a lot of time on the internet and has found some alternative moorings that are worth investigating. We are not in a position to simply up sticks and move now as we will not get a refund (small print in contract) and cannot afford to write off £1500.
We have also looked at buying (once the boat is sold) and the only property locally we could possibly afford to make an offer on is sheltered housing and as such attracts maintenance and service fees which actually total more for the year than our newly hiked mooring fees here.
Moving further North, we could be in with a chance of buying a property once we’ve sold the boat. Hubby has also found brokers and companies to do that at far better commission rates than the thieves here. They will not be getting any more of our business.
Following on from my interview and TV clip on the local news, we have drafted an email to them as ‘our story’ has developed an interesting turn. We are sleeping on it before sending.

Our meal this afternoon was gammon, scrambled eggs, mushrooms and grated cheese as it was all odds that had to be used up. My fridge is now empty bar a red pepper, 2 eggs and some milk.

So, the question as always is,  did I or didn’t I this week.
Good news is I lost a pound and a half, so have dipped below thirteen stone.
Next week I shall sign on for my Last Chance Saloon course of six weeks to try and achieve my three stone certificate (loss of 3½ pounds required) and target (a further 2½ pounds).

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dessert Course: weigh in week twelve

  1. Good news on the weight loss although it was bittersweet with the “other” news. Good luck with whatever you pursue. Know that we are all cheering you on.

    • Thanks Kate. We are feeling more positive already having worked out our exact timeframe and making a list as we think of things that will need to be done whichever way we go. The marina manager and owner are having a meeting on Friday as there re a lot of angry people here and the staff have been taking the flack. We appreciate it’s not their fault, so are just going to wait and see what the result is (if any) before we go further. Everyone is sharing their findings of alternatives which just goes to show how much of a community spirit there is here.

  2. nanny15 says:

    Great you have each other for support and are taking control to find the best affordable solution, all the best, keep us updated. 🙂

  3. ” just gone through the motions of meals.” No wonder with all that’s happening. At least you do have some time to look at alternatives. Leaving the boat would be difficult , but maybe new adventures await. ( We worry, too, about maintenance fees in a new place.)
    Love the towel joke!

    • It’s funny isn’t it. I have another tiptoing in the scales holding her clothes.
      We are thinking positively and exploring all options, as are our friends. There is a lot of anger here and a meeting between the marina manager and the owners is due to take place on Friday. Meanwhile phonelines to other marinas are hot, those with transport are driving to alternative sites, some are already planning their departure, and everyone is talking to each other, which is great!

  4. Oh, when we went to London to visit my hubby’s cousin and family on a rainy day. They couldn’t take us down the river with their boat with no cover. Eventually the rain stopped, we walked along the river and saw some swans. They are so gracious and beautiful. Your boat must be nice. I love reading your story. Here is my follow! Please stop by my blog at:
    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/about-me/
    Love to hear from you. Miriam

  5. Ritu says:

    Well.im glad for your weight loss 🙂
    I really hope the rest falls into place for you too x

  6. scifihammy says:

    Well Done on your weight loss – but looks like I have missed some bad news in your previous posts. It’s awful when rent or mooring fees are summarily increased. Even worse is being ‘evicted’ – as happened to my one daughter, who was given two months to get out, right before Christmas. It’s expensive to pack up and move and to scramble to find other suitable accommodation. I wish you all the best. You and your Hubby will somehow make a plan.

Leave a Reply

