Writing Prompt,Sunday, March 5th – Share

So sorry you are feeling under the weather.
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/19271780/posts/1363809170

Allow me to share this one with you from 1974.

I was on a Bank course for three weeks and didn’t go home at the weekends, treating it as a kind of holiday.
That first weekend I spent exploring. I didn’t drive then so walked everywhere, and this particular day decided to follow a path I’d seen on the way to class one morning.
The sun was glorious. I didn’t need a coat, and was wearing my comfiest shoes, so set off at a brisk pace.

The path led me through some woods and just when I was thinking of turning back as there seemed to be nothing else there, I turned the corner and there it was:
The most beautiful valley and view I have ever seen, and I kicked myself for not having my camera.
It was like time had stood still as there was no evidence of modern man at all (ie, no car noise, bins, rubbish or dog waste). The sun’s rays kissed the green banks as they sloped gently down to the river which sparkled its way on its course to wherever, the water so blue and encrusted with diamonds.
The bird song was tremendous, many of which I couldn’t actually see, but I just stood there marvelling at Nature in its most wonderful glory, feeling an interloper in this magical place, completely spellbound.
I didn’t want to leave, and lost track of how long I stayed there, drinking it all in.
The sudden chill in the air told me it was time to go so I retraced my steps back to campus.

I’ve never forgotten it, never seen anything like it since, and after all these years it probably no longer exists except in my mind. I’m happy to leave it there.

Hope you feel better soon. 🙂

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging, Memories, My life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

