Backward count

Funny thing happened this evening with my stats page.
It clearly stated I had 153 views at the time, but my little graph block was well below the 150 line. Adding up the views per country, it totalled 153.
I refreshed my screen and my views reduced to 116, as I had ‘lost’ 27 from the USA and a variety of single views from other countries.
Weird.
It’s all looking good at the moment though, so thanks everyone.
stats-3-mar

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Backward count

  1. colinandray says:

    A lot of the stats irregularities are, I understand, being caused by data traveling different routes to ultimately arrive on your Blog stats page. (That is why you can have a Comment without a Visitor!) If that really is the case, it would be nice if WP took a few moments to advise their users of same. 🙂

  2. foguth says:

    I have never figured out what to do with that information…. do you do anything with it or just keep track to see where we all are?

    • I was always pleased to see the number of views rising, but in Nov 2015 they changed the way it was done and my figures plummetted. I’m more interested in the likes and comments now and try to keep my posts varied and interesting (?), but as for actually doing anything with them, no, I leave that to WP when they do their little graphs of the previous years performance.

      • foguth says:

        Periodically, WP sends me “stars” and stuff saying I’ve hit this or that level, but I write the blog posts for fun, so I don’t really pay attention to their ‘stats’… I do pay attention to sales and reviews, and each year those gradually increase. Since almost all reviews are positive, I figure we are doing okay… we did have one nasty review – the individual supposedly read a few pages and decided they didn’t like one character’s behavior/attitude … that was an early suspense/romance novel and the character had PTSD, which I didn’t say (just ‘showed’)… Despite the fact that the reviewer meant to be cruel, I took her opinion to mean I had shown Tempest’s underlying psychological issues just right.

      • I’ve had the 1337 sticker and landmark stuff, but don’t get anything like that now as I guess even WP run out of ‘awards’. Like you I blog for fun, it’s a good outlet for me and I love taking part in some of the challenges and photo prompts. As for your bad critic, good for you!

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    I have noticed things like that at various times over the past couple of years. No idea why. :-/

Leave a Reply

