March 1st 2017

The day started bright and pleasant, the bed being occupied only by myself and a snoring Maggie. Thank heavens these past couple of nights have seen the three of us sleeping well and more or less undisturbed………. I don’t count a knee twinge, rolling over and going back to sleep practically immediately.

As I surfaced from Zzs Land, I realised that February was over and it was the first of a new month. It was also PAYDAY, and I was so glad as for reasons still unknown to me, we seem to have had very little money in our pockets recently. It could have been down to me trying to recuperate our river licence hike as I am always trying to cover the following year’s expenditure, that is having a year’s money ‘in hand’.
budgetFollowing yesterday’s disappointment in the scales department, I weighed myself this morning and have actually lost one and a half pounds since last Wednesday’s self check.
It made me feel marginally better, and although a mere eight ounces is no more than a visit to the bathroom, I thought ‘Can’t do anything about it now, press on for that final ‘dessert’ weigh in next week.’
I am not kidding myself that I am miraculously going to hit that magic half stone loss in six days. However, I have reviewed my way of thinking and working on finishing this course at under thirteen stone.
Then I shall purchase my Last Chance Saloon course of just 6 weeks and Go For It!

Digital Camera

kitchen, photo Sept 2015 and a fatter me!

flowers-and-me flowers-and-me-2

Photo: same kitchen, Nov 1st 2016, two stone lighter me!

We are hoping to start work on the kitchen next week if the lady coming on Sunday turns up and decides to buy our cooker (minus tea towel). Once that is out of the way, we can begin our modifications and the combi sink/2 burner unit in the shower will be put in its proper place which will free up some much needed space in there.
Also, it will give me a chance to go through all of the junk that has accumulated under the sink. We discovered putting things in washing up bowls was a good idea, but now all of them are disorganised to overflowing and I can’t find anything anymore anyway.
We’ll be unable to recycle the existing worktop but all being well we should be able to use the cupboard as it’s the right size and already fits in the space!
I noticed today that the microwave is not responding as well as it should, so I just hope that it will keep going until we can replace it with a combined microwave and oven after the work’s done. That will also open up a new chapter in cooking aboard and maybe alleviate my culinary boredom, not that I intend to bake as such but I can make my own lasagnes and have a go at those very tempting SW wedges!

Here are some of the meals and desserts I’ve produced this past week:
blackberry-crumble chicken-dinner ginger-crumble-with-fromage-frais ginger-jacket-spud mushroom-omelette spag-bol

Top: blackberry and pear crumble with custard :Ā  chicken dinner
Middle: blackberry and ginger crunch with fromage frais : jacket and veg with ginger sauce
Bottom: 2 egg mushroom omelette and veg : spaghetti bolognese

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, food, miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March 1st 2017

  1. Ritu says:

    Keep being positive. You’ll do it šŸ˜š

  2. Congrats on meeting your goals ! Great pic. šŸ’

Leave a Reply

