Four Weeks On

I had my final radiotherapy session on 26th January, and was told that it would continue to work for about three weeks from when my initial treatment ended and another three after the last of my boosters. Talk about slow cooking on the back burner (ie.3-6 weeks) !

I’m wondering if, as always, I’m a late starter and I’m feeling the effects of fatigue now.
It could certainly account for my lack of enthusiasm about just about anything, being unable to concentrate, losing my train of thought and possibly the interrupted sleep.

smurfsI’m checking myself each time I have a shower, and the discolouration is finally started to fade. I’m still a bit mottled and misshapen, but apart from the occasional twinge of sharp pins and needles, everything is doing OK. The exercises definitely help.
The hot flushes vary in intensity, but at least I’m coping with them.

I had my op on October 31st,  yet I’m finding it hard to believe it actually happened to be honest. Everything happened so quickly, I saw the right people in the right place at the right time, and Hubby and I just went with the flow sotospeak to get it sorted.
We still talk about it as it affected both of us differently, each of us worried in our own way but being strong for the other. He is still amazed how quickly I healed whereas I am stunned I didn’t go to pieces and panic.

chinese foodI’m due to see ‘God’ on March 20th. Personally I’m hoping to see one of his team instead, but we shall see. Ours is a late appointment so that might mean a treat dinner on the way home. I can certainly live with that option!

In myself though, I feel great, and that’s no fibbing.
If I am tired, I can have a power nap for an hour if I really need one, or if it’s a nice day (not like now when it’s still stormy and wet), I’ll take Maggie for a walk.
Everyone is different, but at least I know my limits, so have no intention of pushing the boundaries (too much).
pink-ribbon-2 pink-ribbon-3 pink-butterfly

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Four Weeks On

  1. MrsCraft says:

    I hope all goes well, you sound like you are coping admirably.

    • Everything is done and dusted and it is just the recovery process now as I’m over the worst. Humphrey (the lump) is no more, had not managed to invade anything else as the lymph nodes and surrounding tissues taken were all clear, so it’s ‘get well’ all the way. I’ve had tremendous support and positivity from everyone.

  2. scifihammy says:

    It could be a delayed fatigue, but like you say, you’re coping with it.
    I think you and Hubby were amazing about the whole thing. I also can’t believe how quickly time has passed! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

