Friday Fictioners Microfiction : Snow

I know it’s not Friday yet, but here’s another short story challenge with a photoprompt.
You can check out the details here:
https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/02/22/24-february-2017/

friday-fictioners-snowPHOTO PROMPT © Sarah Potter

The gypsy had been selling pegs at the door and Rupert had no time for beggars.
‘Sod off,’ he said.
‘Please sir,’ she croaked. ‘Spare a coin for an old woman. I’ll grant you a wish!’
‘Yeah, right, ‘ he scoffed.
Tossing a penny into the snow, he said ‘I wish it snows every day so that the likes of you leave me alone!’
Next morning he pulled back the curtains to see a large eyeball peering in at him.
WTH?
‘I can’t touch you now!’ The old woman cackled. ‘I’ve trapped you all inside a snow globe!’

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in #flash fiction, blogging, Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Friday Fictioners Microfiction : Snow

  1. Watch what you wish for, especially if you’re a mean-spirited bastard, and it’s a gypsy who’s offering the wish 🙂

  2. Dear Pensitivity,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. Guess he should’ve been more careful what he wished for. Clever story…100 words packed into a snow globe. 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Dale says:

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, Pensivity! And what a great way to make an entrance. Wonderful fairy tale!

  4. James says:

    Not quite what I thought would happen. I imagined a world where it never stopped snowing and we entered another ice age.

  5. Rommy says:

    I love fairy tales! This made me giggle.

  6. Beware of cackling crones too quick to grant wishes.

    The huge eyeball caught me by surprise. You should’ve heard my giggle.

  7. gahlearner says:

    Hah, serves him right, what a mean guy.

  8. michael1148humphris says:

    As a child in the 1950s I often came across traditional gypsy caravans usually in those days hidden in woods. Respecting them was driven into me, your story tells me why.

  9. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Ha, revenge is sweet. Well done.

  10. mandibelle16 says:

    Never a smart thing to tick off a beggar/Witch. Now everyone’s stuck in a snow globe thanks to him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

