Dear Diary, 22nd February

I’ve been up a while and the marina is slowly coming to life.
The geese are awake and a couple of ducks have started their quackathon, smaller birds can be heard welcoming the start of a new day, and I heard a smattering of rain just before I got out of bed. It’s surprisingly warm though, but we can expect Storm Doris to arrive later, and it’s unclear just now just how much we’re likely to be affected.

storm-dorisAll I can say is I’m glad we are no longer living in Lincolnshire as we would’ve been smack in the middle of it.

It’s impossible for me to slip quietly out of bed here. I sleep along the side of the boat, and unless I can wriggle myself gently down to the bottom, Hubby has to move.
Maggie got us up again in the early hours, but at least this morning it was 4.30 and not 2am. Last night her final walk time was interrupted by another dog and although she did a wee, we had nothing else, which was the problem. Two lots in quick succession this morning, but better up on the dogwalk than in the boat.
Her stomach can’t handle even some dog biscuits now, and already we have cut down on her treats from our plates, so it will just be the occasional chew and her main dried food.
It’s not her fault, she’s getting old, and like us, her digestive system isn’t what it used to be.
Unlike being in a house, getting up in the middle of the night is a chore as we can’t just pad to the back door and let her out into the garden. Thankfully, it isn’t all that often, but it’s unsettling as one of us has to get dressed to take her out regardless of the weather. Usually this is Hubby, but this morning we both got up. I thought a bit of exercise would help with my knee and I was having one of my global warming sessions.

heatwaveI was glad Hubby was able to get back to sleep more or less immediately.
I was still hot and uncomfortable and as my knee continued to play up, after a while of listening to him gently snoring I got up, wriggling as considerately as possible.

There are so many comforting sounds on the boat, from the gentle hum of the fridge to the thrum of the dehumidifier as it kicks in. The boat sways gently in the wind, the ropes sometimes creaking, and we have the occasional tap of metal on the hull as our ‘zipper condoms’ have long since slipped into the drink, but it’s the sound of home and familiarity, so it doesn’t keep us awake.

There are times though when sleep just won’t come, no matter how tired I am.
The mind is awhirl with health issues (both human and canine), money concerns and a variety of songs I haven’t heard in years echoing through my head for no reason as we don’t have a radio on in the boat during the day and rarely listen to the music stations in the car as it is simply repetitive noise, and not even a tuneful one at that.

February is such a short month yet this time around it has absolutely dragged.
I have gone through the accounts and we don’t seem to have overspent, yet we are more brassic than normal and I will be glad when pay day comes around next week.
I’m getting really fed up with food shopping, especially as prices are on the rise again and we are getting less weight for our money. I’ve been trying to plan our meals and keep in line with the SW guidelines, but it’s an effort and I feel a losing battle just now.
It’s not just the weight thing, but this cold took it out of both of us, and Hubby still can’t shake the cough, which is why I’m so glad he’s been able to sleep on.
We’ve both been worrying about the possibility of macular degeneration, so getting the all clear yesterday has at least taken some of the pressure off.
Another thing is we want to make a start on the kitchen, but need to get rid of the cooker first. We’ve advertised it in 6 places, but no takers yet.  Some friends have suggested Facebook, so Hubby will look into that as we have never been keen on it or other forms of social media. Blogging and email is sufficient for us. However, I think we will be making a start next month anyway.

I wrote to my Mum last night and we posted it off on our final walk.
It was annoying to be confronted by the other dog when we got back on site, especially as it attacked Maggie for no reason when they first arrived a few months ago. They seem to have made a truce, but I still don’t trust it.
Hubby is helping a friend out with her computer today, so it will just be Maggie and I for the morning. I might get my card box out and make a few as it’s Mother’s Day on the 26th March and I haven’t anything suitable in reserve. I’ve got a few ideas, which is something else buzzing around in this head of mine!

cards 5 5 2

 

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, Maggie, miscellaneous, Uncategorized, weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear Diary, 22nd February

  1. nanny15 says:

    Sometimes, we just have to ‘do’ life, waiting for it to turn a corner and surprise us. 🙂

  2. I love sleeping on a boat – that gentle rocking just puts me to sleep (that includes when we’re just out for a little trip on the fishing boat or my parents’ pontoon boat – even a canoe can do it!). Of course, a persistent dog would put a little damper on that!

    • She’s usually very good and goes through the night, but these things happen. Of course the other problem is thnder or fireworks, then she just won’t settle, and as she sleeps on the bed, none of us get much sleep until it’s all over. I’m not happy with dosing her up with anything as we’ve discovered even a quarter dose knocks her sideways.

  3. Pingback: Doris is a Bitch! | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

