Dessert Course Weigh In: week ten

Oh lor, where have the last seven days gone?
This time last week Hubby was in A&E and I was to-ing and fro-ing.
I attended an early weigh in session, had no breakfast, the mountain moved big time prior to getting on the scales and I had a massive four pound loss.

I’ve had this eye thing today, checking me out for Macular Degeneration.
Age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is a painless eye condition that causes you to lose central vision, usually in both eyes (source WIKI).
Getting on in age sucks.
eye-grid

All I can say is Eek…….. I may attend the same session after my eye thing, I will have had breakfast, and perhaps a little hillock motion, but I don’t think I’ve come even remotely close, let alone lost three pounds to attain my three stone certificate (sigh).

Exercise wise I’ve walked extra, so any naughty stuff was hopefully burnt off, and we have finally kicked that cold bug into touch.

I’ve kept up my food diary too and the pattern seems to have been two breakfasts and one main meal most days. I don’t know if that’s good or bad to be honest, but the fibre angle works and for me that is definitely a GOOD thing. I’m still eating broccoli and cauliflower as it’s cheap to buy, but I have to admit I’m getting fed up with food shopping and bored with what I eat. That’s BAD, and the sugar monster keeps preying on my mind.

honey-monsterWe’ve had a bit of a variation in the boat kitchen this week though.

blueberry-breakfast cheese-jacket orange-yoghurt-and-raspberries rather-large-chilli

savoury-mince sweet-n-sour

melon-and-grapes gammon-jacket

gammon-breakfast jacket-and-veg-with-sauce

Top: blueberry breakfast: cheese jacket
2nd: orange yoghurt and raspberries: rather large chilli
3rd: savoury mince and mash: sweet n sour chicken
4th: melon and grape dessert: gammon jacket.
bottom: gammon breakfast:  jacket, veg and sweet ginger sauce**.

So, the big question is How Did I Do?

Pound and a half gain I’m afraid, which puts me right back where I started at the beginning of Dessert!
Still, a lot has happened in these past ten weeks, including Christmas and New Year, plus my radiotherapy treatments.

I’m looking at it that losing that final required half stone is the most difficult (as expected). I have lost everything I gained, so maybe this is my body’s way of telling me I am At Target and to forget that other half a stone.
But I want to get there. I want that three stone certificate.
I have two weeks left to lose those seven pounds.

**
This was today’s dinner, a jacket potato with broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, red pepper and mushrooms. To tang it up a bit, I made a sauce using a stock cube and some water from the steamed veg, plus a ¼ teaspoon of dried ginger and a little sugar. To thicken it (I made it in a mug as it was only for me, so this was half full) I put it in the microwave for a minute. I then drizzled it over the veg and my potato and it was lovely!

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dessert Course Weigh In: week ten

  1. colinandray says:

    Just a minor setback! Nothing that cannot be resolved with some planning! Keep going Di! 🙂

  2. Ritu says:

    You’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

