Scoop the Poop

Time for a rant.
In fact, I am so livid, I have drafted a letter to our town council which will be sent off by email as soon as our internet is up and running again (busy weekend with visitors, so have had to do a lot of my work off-line today).
soap boxI have a dog, and in walking said dog, I carry an endless supply (almost) of poo bags in my pocket, or attached to her lead in one of those bone dispenser things.
The doggie waste disposal bin in the cut through is out of commission because some idiot decided to cram it full of beer cans and the like, and busted the lid. It is now shrouded in a black bin liner, and has been like this for well over a week.
poo bagsThat is not my gripe, as Maggie does her business in more than one place on our walks, and there are other bins en route for doggy waste or normal litter, so there is no excuse for having nowhere to dispose of those little ‘packages’.

My gripe is the amount of dog sh!t that is left unattended, mainly by one individual if the  size, colour and texture of the dog stools are anything to go by.
It’s bad enough being in the grass (where kids play by the way), but what has really pi55ed me off is that said dog has crapped by the bin itself, and it has just been left! Not sealed in a bag, blue, green, red, black, perfumed or otherwise, but just left to rot and stink out the neighbourhood.
Even worse, on the way to making this localised deposit, there is a dotted line of auburn dog poo leading the way.

To the owner of said dog (and any other of the culprits who I hope get poetic justice by stepping in someone else’s pets and taking it inside their homes):

CLEAR UP YOU LAZY SOD!
dog poop dog poo 1 dog poo

Rant over.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in Dogs, health, Just a thought, miscellaneous, observations, Opinions, people, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Scoop the Poop

  1. foguth says:

    I assure you this issue is not confined to your area. Our area has equally strict regulations, yet we know several chronic violators. Our neighborhood calls the worst offender ‘the troll’. For some reason, ‘the troll’ hated another neighbor so much that he would encourage his dog to use that yard to go potty (the owner has 3 kids, who play in that yard)… Another friend has seen her neighbor encourage her large dog to do it’s business, then she looks around, if she doesn’t see anyone watching, she leaves it…. she doesn’t seem to understand that several of her neighbors have security cameras with videos of this chronic behavior – they are trying to decide the most effective way to use this evidence and our own neighbor is seriously considering getting cameras….

    • We remember a guy who’s dog fouled in the park and he was fined £1000 for not clearing up. He was annoyed, but paid up, and then let his second dog do exactly the same in the same park, and was fined another £1000.
      Councils don’t clean the streets like they used to (cut backs) and the High Street is also a mess.
      One morning, I was asked if I was going to clear up when walking Maggie back from the supermarket. I said I can’t clear up pee, and the bloke said ‘not pee, that’, pointing to a pile of mess. I said no. My dog didn’t do it. To which he replied ‘are you sure’ I said yes, it was the wrong size, wrong colour, ‘cold’ and I assured him that if she had done it, I would most certainly have cleared up. He did apologise.
      For your neighbourhood issues, do you have fines for such offenders? I wonder if a few instances of naming and shaming would do the trick here.

      • foguth says:

        We have fines, but collecting them is another matter.
        Poop is not our only issue with dogs. Over the holidays, our neighbors were walking their cog (bit larger than M), when a large dog rushed out of a yard and attacked her… over 1K in veterinarian bills. 5 days for Animal Control to respond; A.C. confronted the other dog’s owner and issued a fine – they refused to pay. A.C. took the dog into custody. They paid the fine and got the dog back, but never paid for the victim’s vet bills…. 3 weeks ago, the dog attacked another dog – I haven’t heard what that outcome is, but, much as I love animals, I hope that the dog is either kept by A.C. or put down.

      • I agree with you, it’s not good for the dog, other dogs or their owners, so the matter may have to be taken out of their hands. Maggie can be twitchy (she has a blind side and can’t cope with ‘fast’) so we are always wary of other dogs, even if we know them. I would hate to be in that position.

      • foguth says:

        The main problem that I have with both attacks is that the aggressive dog was unsupervised inside a 6′ privacy fence, yet it broke down the gate in order to attack two dogs who were peacefully walking on the sidewalk… While attacking the dogs is horrible, what if it had been a child?

      • Quite, and the owners should be held accountable. Like you say though, it is enforcing the law/fines that is the problem.

  2. It’s like that everywhere. We take Cody for walks at the track at the local school, and we always pick up. But others don’t. And this is an elementary school! Little kids use that track during the school day!

    Even worse, my bimbo next-door neighbor has her little dog trained to come over onto my front berm to do its business. The only reason we haven’t called the cops is because I’d feel foolish whining about the droppings of a 3-lb dog.

    • Bag it up and return it to her with a smile ‘I believe this is yours?’.
      The new old lady up the road lets her dog walk round the courtyards of the properties adjacent to her and doesn’t always clear up. We have one here on the marina too, and have our suspicions but haven’t witnessed it. A couple of years ago we knew exactly who it was but they aren’t here any more. Some of the residents bring their dogs down to the dog walk here as they don’t have gardens, but most clear up. We take Maggie round the Avenue because of the sycamore seeds sticking to her feet and she already overlicks them.

  3. amommasview says:

    Oh I could go on and on about that same issue! I might even write about it… In fact I will! Seems to be a global ignorance issue… I mean: What is so hard about picking up your dog’s poo???

  4. Ugh! It isn’t like it’s hard to clean up after your dog. I think one of the worst parts of it is, these people ruin the use of places for lots of us when dogs get banned from parks or trails or public places because some individuals can’t be bothered to carry bags or use those conveniently provided for that purpose. Even when Choppy and I are walking out in the country where it is unlikely anyone is going to see or run into or care about her poop, I pick it up. It’s just the right thing to do, whether someone is watching or not, or whether it is necessary or not.

  5. Pingback: The Thing With The Poo | A Momma's View

Leave a Reply

