Flushed with surprise

I’m a fussy kinda gal when it comes to spending a penny, and in years past you could guarantee that my loo of choice would either not have a lock, be out of paper, blocked completely, or just plain disgusting with everything on the floor rather than in the pan.
Sometimes it’s a blessing when you’ve trained yourself to ‘hold it’.
It is no surprise then that I’m not a fan of public loos, though most on the motorways are regularly attended and kept relatively clean.
skip to the looWith the introduction of more modern public sanitary equipment, you could now add screaming kids having the time of their lives with soap fights and loo roll bomb runs, sensory automatic taps which are great for providing jet streams as the little darlings play at washing their hands and those directional hand dryer things so you can do your hair as well (or dry your tee shirt).

On the way down to see Mum, we stopped to change drivers and get some breakfast, and had to use the service facilities.
At five feet and seven inches, I am not an over tall person, neither am I short, but I am somewhat concerned as to the height of the WC throne now which seems to have shrunk to accommodate children more than adults.
tiny-toiletIt is a little perplexing to be lowering oneself into position and to have to keep going before getting the necessary chill effect. Then of course there is the difficulty in getting the correct balance in order to raise oneself to one’s feet again.

The loo caddy (having an anti kid device called A LOCK) was half full, and the half that was in use was parallel to my left elbow.
Service Station cubicles do not have flush handles now but a little sensory device on the wall behind the pan that you do not have to touch at all but simply wave at.
You can see where I’m going (excuse pun) with this can’t you, and you have my permission to laugh because to be honest, I cannot relay my tale without a grin.

My sensor was nervous.
So much so that in reaching for the loo roll, the flush went off before I was ready.
Water went everywhere in my haste to get out the way, and I’m surprised I didn’t fall flat on my face in the process. I was terrified I was going to flood the cubicle as the water level continued to rise and I had deposited absolutely NOTHING that would have caused a blockage, I swear!!

The blush and flush finally subsided and I could check for damage. Being mostly to my pride, and luckily not a drenching of any of my clothes, I yanked off reams of loo roll and began moping up.
Public loo or not, I will not leave a mess for someone who follows me.

Thinking about it, I am now wondering if it was a timing mechanism to save on attendant cleaning, and I was just unlucky.
Then again it could have been some sneaky device for stopping people taking too long in the loo in the first place. I know of several people who take books, crossword puzzles or a newspaper in with them, and our bathroom had a picture in it saying ‘aka library’.
toilet-jokeThis will come I’m sure.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, humour, Just a thought, miscellaneous, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flushed with surprise

  1. Bernadette says:

    I can’t even imagine wanting to spend more than 60 seconds in a public bathroom. YUK! The dog skipping to the loo is a riot.

  2. scifihammy says:

    Sounds like a horrid experience! Luckily here I’ve not yet found the automatic flush system, tho they do have automatic taps – that squirt out a trickle only (water shortage!)

  3. Oh dear, I share your pain, those automatic sensors in bathrooms really just hinder rather than help me

  4. I hate when the automatic flush starts up when I’m not “ready.” Splashes, spritzes, whatever. It’s almost like a bidet with “dirty” water.

Leave a Reply

