The Early Bird really flew!

I said yesterday it was going to be a long day.
Perhaps I should rephrase that and say we had a short night.
early-birdWe got to bed just after 10pm and Hubby said if he could sleep until 4, that would give him 6 hours, which he could manage on once in a while.
I’m the same, as long as it’s a good quality sleep, and not catnapping.

At 3.45, Hubby stirred, I was sort of awake and waited to see which way things would go.
He stretched outside the duvet and flicked the heating on, then checked the time.
‘Are you awake?’ he asked.
‘Kinda, but can go one way or the other. Do you want to get up so that we can set off early?’

So that was what we did.
We got up, had a cup of tea, and were on the road after walking the dog round the Avenue by 5am.

early-bird-5am
The plan was to drive to our normal changeover stop and have breakfast, which was not worms but a bacon roll and latte coffee, and beat all the rush hour traffic.

We arrived in Poole at 8.10, which was way too early to visit Mum, so took Maggie down to Hamworthy and gave her some quality time.
She paddled her feet, chased another dog’s ball, got fed some sneaked titbits by putting on her ‘they don’t love me’ look, played the tart to a rather young and dashing liver and white springer pup, and took umbrage when a brown JRT/staffie type cross sniffed her nether regions without her permission.

I rang Mum just after 9 to say we were about half an hour away. She was just getting up.
Sis is looking good for her weight loss, it was noticed I’d lost a bit too, and the little dog that Mum was so taken with has apparently moved in. The owner however, is only there at the weekend.

Mum was bright and chipper, joining in with the conversation, relaxed, happy and totally on top of it all.
The subject of my surgery came up, and she wanted to know what I’d had done, where, and why. We answered all of her questions (without mentioning the word cancer), and I even showed her my scar.
booby-bird
I think she’s cottoned on, but we made light of my blue boob, lubing the boob, blue wee, blue tits and booby birds having her in fits of laughter, so I’m confident she won’t be worrying unnecessarily about my health as she could see that I am indeed absolutely fine.

In short, we have had a smashing day. One of the best ever in fact.
The dog in the picture with the three of us is Sir Barkalot .
us-three mum-and-me-feb-2017
mum-and-me-laughing love-you-mum

I love you Mum.

Note:
I shall be sending copies of these pictures to Bro in NZ.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, Family, health, humour, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Early Bird really flew!

  1. DM says:

    great pictures! Love to see you all laughing. Thanks for sharing!!!~ 🙂 DM

  2. So glad you visit started off so well…and that you didn’t have to eat the worm.

  3. The pictures are wonderful. So glad you shared. You look fabulous and your Mum and sis look good too. It’s so great when a trip goes well.

  4. nanny15 says:

    I know, as a mum around your mum’s age, you have made her feel great and valued as well. Memories are what keep us going when loved ones pass on.

    • Thank you. Now we’ve done the journey since my op, I can gauge my tiredness better. I’m exhausted today, but so glad we went. Have sent the pictures to my sister and both of my brothers now.

Leave a Reply

